Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Affiliated Faculty

environmental studies

William Armstrong
E-mail: william.armstrong@bc.edu
Department: Chemistry

Areas of Specialization: Transition metal catalysis of multi-electron reactions at the oxidizing and reducing limits of the redox scale

Course(s) related to ES minor:
CH 105 Chemistry and Society I


 

G. Michael Barnett
E-mail: barnetge@bc.edu
Department: Education

Areas of Specialization: Urban science education, educational technology, trust-building in university-school partnerships

Course(s) related to ES minor:
GE 182 The Living Earth II


 

Ethan Baxter
E-mail: ethan.baxter@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Isotope Geochemistry and Geochronolgy, Tectonics and Metamorphism, Earth History

Courses related to ES minor:
EESC 2220: Earth Materials


 

John A. Darr
E-mail: john.darr@bc.edu
Department: Theology

Areas of Specialization: New Testament, The Gospel of Luke and Acts of the Apostles, literary criticism and theory, biblical characters and characterizations

Courses related to ES minor:
TH 231 Bible and Ecology


 

Paul Davidovits
E-mail: paul.davidovits@bc.edu
Department: Chemistry

Areas of Specialization: The role of cloud and aerosol chemistry in atmospheric processes such as acid rain formation and stratospheric ozone depletion. The current work in the Davidovits laboratory is focused on the study chemical and optical properties of atmospheric aerosols including soot aerosols. Such aerosols have been shown to have important effects on climate and present serious health hazards.

Courses related to ES minor:
CH 110 General Chemistry
CH 575 Physical Chemistry


 

Tiziana Dearing
E-mail: tiziana.dearing@bc.edu
Academic Unit: Graduate School of Social Work

Areas of Specialization: fundamental moral theology, theological bioethics, biotechnologies, reproductive technologies, end of life issues, medical ethics, genetics, environmental issues


 

David Deese
E-mail: david.deese@bc.edu
Department: Political Science

Areas of Specialization: The politics and institutions of international economic relations

Course(s) related to ES minor:
PO 522 International Institutions, Public and Private


 

Rosanna Demarco
E-mail: rosanna.demarco.1@bc.edu
Department: School of Nursing

Areas of Specialization: Women, marginalization, and health behaviors including women living with HIV/AIDS and nurses in the workplace. Community-based intervention mixed methods research with vulnerable populations; conceptualizing family and community as client; research design methodologies and knowledge development that is gender sensitive and culturally relevant to women.

Course(s) related to ES minor:
NU 210 Public Health: The Science of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion


 

Charles Derber
E-mail: derber@bc.edu
Department: Sociology

Areas of Specialization: Climate change, capitalism, globalization, terrorism, the culture of hegemony, and the power of multinational corporations

Courses related to ES minor:
SC 092 Peace or War
SC 375 American Economic Crisis and Social Change


 

John Ebel
E-mail: john.ebel@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Earthquake Seismology, Exploration Seismology, Theoretical Seismology

Courses related to ES minor:
GE 172 Weather, Climate, and the Environment
GE 455 Exploration Seismology


 

Brian Gareau
E-mail: brian.gareau@bc.edu
Department: Sociology and International Studies

Areas of Specialization: Environmental Sociology; Science, Knowledge and Technology; Globalization; Political Sociology; Rural Sociology/Agrofood Studies; Global Environmental Governance

Courses related to ES minor:
SC 031 Society and Environmental Transformations
SC 348/IN 348 Environmental Sociology
SC 530/IN 530 International Studies Senior Seminar
SC 349 Environmental Studies: Select Topics


 

Laura Hake
E-mail: hakel@bc.edu
Department: Biology

Areas of Specialization: Translational regulation and signal transduction during meiosis and in early animal development

Courses related to ES minor:
BI 200 Molecules and Cells
BI 513 Environmental Disruptors


 

Mary Ann Hinsdale, IHM
E-mail: maryann.hinsdale@bc.edu
Department: Theology

Areas of Specialization: ecclesiology, Christology, theological anthropology, and feminist theologies

Courses related to ES minor:
TH 429 Theology and Ecology


 

Rudolph Hon
E-mail: rudolph.hon@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Igneous Geochemistry, Petrology, Mineralogy, GIS

Courses related to ES minor:
GE 192 Earth Under Siege
GE 204 Environmental Systems: The Critical Zone
GE 250 Environmental Geology
GE 480 Applications of GIS


 

Alan Kafka
E-mail: alan.kafka@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Seismology, Earthquake Hazards, Science Education, Science and Public Policy

Course(s) related to ES minor:
GE 207 Environmental Systems: Earthquakes and Hazards


 

T Frank Kennedy, S.J.
E-mail: frkenned@bc.edu
Department: Jesuit Community, Music Department

Areas of Specialization: Early Music, Opera


 

Robert Kern
E-mail: robert.kern@bc.edu
Department: English

Areas of Specialization: 19th and 20th century American poetry, American nature writing and Ecocriticism, and the Whitman tradition

Courses related to ES minor:
EN 633 Cross Cultural American Fiction
EN 857 American Nature Writing


 

Gail Kineke
E-mail: gail.kineke@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Marine sediment transport, coastal oceanography and estuarine processes

Courses related to ES minor:
GE 157 Oceanography
GE 206 Environmental Systems: Oceans
GE 380 Environmental Oceanography
GE 535 Coastal Processes


 

Marc Landy
E-mail: marc.landy@bc.edu
Department: Political Science

Areas of Specialization: American Political Development, American Presidency, Environmental Politics and Policy


 

Marina McCoy
E-mail: marina.mccoy@bc.edu
Department: Philosophy

Areas of Specialization: Ancient Philosophy (Plato, rhetoricians, ancient Greek literature), Gender and ecology

Course(s) related to ES minor:
PL 521 Women, Nature, and Ecology


 

Katherine McNeill
E-mail: kmcneill@bc.edu
Department: Education

Areas of Specialization: Science education; supporting students in scientific inquiry, explanation and argumentation; design and enactment of science curriculum materials

Course(s) related to ES minor:
ED 109 Teaching About the Natural World


 

Anant Nyshadham
E-mail: anant.nyshadham@bc.edu
Department: Economics

Areas of Specialization: Development Economics, Public Policy Analysis, Analysis of Labor Markets

Course(s) related to ES minor:
ECON 2277 Environmental Economics and Policy
ECON 2278 Environmental Economics


 

Clare O'Connor
E-mail: clare.oconnor@bc.edu
Department: Biology

Areas of Specialization: Role of protein carboxyl methyltransferase in the repair of proteins during the aging process

Course(s) related to ES minor:
BI 142 The Genetic Century


 

Kevin O'Neill
E-mail kevin.oneill.1@bc.edu
Department: History

Areas of Specialization: Ireland, rural society, famine, Atlantic economy

Courses related to ES minor:
HS 031 Europe and the Modern World I: Environmental History
HS 032 Europe and the Modern World II: Environmental History


 

Frank J. Parker, S.J.
E-mail: parker@bc.edu
Department: Business Law

Areas of Specialization: real estate development, international business, international law

Course(s) related to ES minor:
MJ 647 The Environment and Sustainability


 

Prasannan Parthasarathi
E-mail: prasannan.parthasarathi@bc.edu
Department: History

Areas of Specialization: Modern South Asian history; British Empire; labor history; economic history

Course(s) related to ES minor:
SC 025 People and Nature: History and Future of Human Impacts/Planet


 

Zygmunt Plater
E-mail: zygmunt.plater@bc.edu
Department: Law School

Areas of Specialization: Environmental, property, land use, and administrative agency law

Course(s) related to ES minor:
UN 256 Environmental Law and Policy


 

Juliet Schor
E-mail: juliet.schor@bc.edu
Department: Sociology

Areas of Specialization: Consumer culture, consumption and sustainability

Courses related to ES minor:
SC 025 People and Nature: History and Future of Human Impacts/Planet
SC 560 Consumption and Sustainability


 

Jeremy Shakun
E-mail: jeremy.shakun@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Paleoclimate, Glaciers and Ice Sheets, Geochemistry

Courses related to ES minor:
EESC 1132: Exploring the Earth
EESC 1174: Climate Change and Society
EESC 2205: Environmental Systems: Climate Change
EESC 2264: Stratigraphy and Sedimentology
EESC 4462: Paleoclimate I
EESC 4463: Paleoclimate II


 

Min Hyoung Song
E-mail: min.song@bc.edu
Department: English

Areas of Specialization: Specializes in Asian American, ethnic American, and twentieth-century American literature, with a special interest in cultural studies and literary theory


 

Bill Stevenson
E-mail: stevenw@bc.edu
Department: Organizational Studies, Carroll School of Management

Areas of Specialization: Environmental management, organizational research, and leadership

Course(s) related to ES minor:
MB 145 Management and the Environment


 

David Storey
E-mail: david.storey@bc.edu
Department: Philosophy

Areas of specialization: continental philosophy, environmental ethics, Asian philosophy

Courses related to ES minor:
PHIL 5534 Environmental Ethics


 

Paul Strother
E-mail: paul.strother@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Paleobotany, palynology, Precambrian paleobiology, and the origin of land plants. I study terrestrialization, which includes both the evolutionary processes and the fossil record associated with the origin and early establishment of terrestrial ecosystems on Earth.

Courses related to ES minor:
GE 146 Origin and Evolution of Life on Earth


 

Richard Sweeny
E-mail: sweeneri@bc.edu
Department: Economics

Areas of Specialization: Environmental Economics, Industrial Organization

Course(s) related to ES minor:
ECON 2277 Environmental Economics and Policy


 

Andrew Tirrell
E-mail: andrew.tirrell@bc.edu
Program: International Studies

Areas of Specialization: Human rights law, natural resource development, climate change adaptation

Courses related to ES minor:
IN 260 International Environmental Science and Policy
IN 261 Indigenous Peoples and Natural Resources


 

Holly Vande Wall
E-mail: holly.vandewall@bc.edu
Department: Philosophy

Areas of Specialization: History and Philosophy of Science, Environmental Ethics

Course(s) related to ES minor:
Environmental Ethics


 

Judith Vessey
E-mail: vessey@bc.edu
Department: Philosophy

Areas of Specialization: The effect of chronic teasing and bullying on psychological and physical health of children and adolescents; evidence-based school health services and school nursing practices; bullying in the workplace.

Course(s) related to ES minor:
NU 215 Healthcare Policy and Politics


 

Andrea Vicini, S.J.
E-mail: andrea.vicini@bc.edu
Academic Unit: School of Theology and Ministry

Areas of Specialization: Fundamental moral theology, theological bioethics, biotechnologies, reproductive technologies, end of life issues, medical ethics, genetics, environmental issues


 

Sandra Waddock
E-mail: sandra.waddock@bc.edu
Department: Carroll School of Management

Areas of Specialization: Sustainability, Responsibility, Community at Boston College and the Initiative for Responsible Investing

Courses related to ES minor:
MD 310 Corporate Responsibility
UN 548 Leadership and Mindfulness


 

David Wirth
E-mail: david.wirth@bc.edu
Department: Law School

Areas of Specialization:

Courses related to ES minor:
Environmental Law
International Environmental Law
Climate Change and the Law


 

Corinne I. Wong
E-mail: corinne.wong@bc.edu
Department: Earth and Environmental Sciences

Areas of Specialization: Environmental Isotopes, Aqueous Geochemistry, Paleoclimate

Courses related to ES minor:
EESC 2201: The Human Footprint
EESC 4440: Biogeochemical Cycles
EESC 4462: Paleoclimate I
EESC 4463: Paleoclimate II


 

Ling Zhang
E-mail: ling.zhang.2@bc.edu
Department: History

Areas of Specialization: Environmental, economic, and political history of China, Chinese middle period, comparative history of water and rivers, landscape studies, historical geography, environmental ethics and environmental justice

Courses related to ES minor:
HS 390 China Regionalized: Environment, History and Culture