Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences

CS Majors Receive Academic Awards


The Computer Science Department is pleased to congratulate the following CS majors for being recognized with important academic awards.




Dean's Scholar: Minghao Liu

Minghao Liu is a native of Tianjin, China. He was a math and science enthusiast in high school. "Programming contest was my favorite extra-curricular activity back then, and it became my major immediately when I entered college," says Minghao. In his spare time, Minghao plays violin and participates in intramural soccer.




Sophomore Scholar: Kaimin Liu

Kaimin Liu is from Nanjing, China. She chose to major in Physics and CS because she's interested in science fiction and video games.



Marina Thetford

Sophomore Scholar: Marina Thetford

Marina Thetford was born and raised in small-town western Pennsylvania. When not coding, she enjoys hiking, singing and playing the piano.



Shikun (Jason) Wang

Sophomore Scholar: Shikun Wang

Shikun (Jason) Wang hails from Guangzhou, China. He is interested in the study of artificial intelligence and data analysis. Jason also love sports, and plays football, basketball, fencing, badminton, and table tennis. 



About Dean’s Scholars

Each year a select group of the brightest young scholars in the junior class are honored by the Dean of the Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences as Dean’s Scholars. They are selected on the basis of their overall academic performance, the recommendations from their departmental faculty, their co-curricular initiatives, and the sense of purpose with which they approach their future. Thus, the outstanding students listed below are true scholars in the fullest sense of the word.

About Sophomore Scholars

The Dean of the Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences each year honors the most academically distinguished members of the sophomore class as Sophomore Scholars. The young scholars have achieved an academic ranking that places them in the top four to five percent of their class of more than 1552 and have also received the recognition and nomination of their major departments. The Sophomore Scholar’s award recognizes their current distinction and their promise for the future.