Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

College of Arts and Sciences

Lambda Pi Eta

communication department

Lambda Pi Eta (LPE) is the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association. LPE was founded at the University of Arkansas in 1985 and has grown into a national organization with more than 400 active chapters at colleges and universities across the country. After it reached a reasonable size, LPE became a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.

The Communication Department historically inducted senior majors who finished an honors thesis into LPE. This was an appropriate way to recognize a significant academic accomplishment, but it meant the department was inducting majors at the very moment they graduated and left the Heights.

In an effort to make our chapter more active, the department changed when we inducted new members in 2009. Rather than waiting until students finish the honors program, eligible majors will be inducted when they start taking honors classes. This means the department will be inviting our very best majors to join LPE during their junior year with the hope that they will decide to write a thesis their senior year. Under the new scheme, everyone in the honors program will be eligible for LPE and those who complete a thesis will graduate with department honors.

The following students have been inducted into the Delta Zeta Chapter of Lambda Pi Eta:

Class of 2015

Caroline Cammarano, Joanne Connelly, Sara Daley, Emily Gumbrecht, Emily Hoffarth, Bridgette McDermott, Jill Parolin, Cassandra Poulis, Amy Tarrant, Kathryn Tolkowsky

Class of 2014

Catherine Boyle, Sara Davey, Katherine Donahue, Tatiana Gilmartin, David Groman, Rebecca Kelley, Cassandra Martin, Bridget Norris, Nicole Sandonato

Class of 2013

Alicia Battistoni, Katharine Burkland, Jaclyn D'Esposito, Elaina Donofrio, Chloe Green-Vamos, Alexander Manta, Izabela Marciszewski, Christina Pizzi, Tierney Smith, Greta Wiessner

Class of 2012

Kerry Brunelle, Taylor Costas, Leah Cowper, Courtney Davenport, Susan El Khoury, Chloe Kivestu, Margaux Labaudiniere, Emma Marr, Rachel McMonagle, Kristen Nicolai, Kathryn Rentas, Mary (Molly) Rosenman, Gregory Sacharoff, Sarah Salvia, Anne Tousignant Miller, Robert Vogel, Kathryn Weintraub

Class of 2011

Robyn Antonucci, Amanda Batstone, Isabella Biedenharn, Joseph De Maio, Daniel Duquette, Stephanie Fernandes, Melanie Harris, Michael Keebler, Soo Jin Kim, Stephanie Mariani, Patricia Moran, Jennifer Muse, Lindsay Neeven, Christine Olson, Erika Page, Lucia Passanisi, Sean Peick, Christy Titus, Melanie Toner, and George Trakadas

Class of 2010

Christina Cerutti, Laura Correnti, Brenden Dougherty, Elizabeth Glatzer, Katherine Julian, Emily Koruda, Mary Lauer, Emily Legros, Gretchen Losordo, Michelle Losordo, Megan Maginnis, Blair Marsh, Toni Mione, Kellen O’Gara, Anisha Patel, Margaret Rulli, Sydney Sanchez, and Michael Tuntevski