Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Faculty and Staff

classical studies

Faculty


Kendra J. Eshleman
Associate Professor; Chair and Director of Undergraduate Studies in Classics
Roman Cultural History, Early Christianity
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Office: Stokes S237
Email: kendra.eshleman@bc.edu

Gail L. Hoffman
Assistant Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in Classics
Greek Art and Archeology
Ph.D., M.A., University of Michigan
Office: Stokes S241
Email: gail.hoffman@bc.edu

Christopher Polt
Assistant Professor
Latin Literature
Ph.D., University of North Carolina
Office: Stokes S243
Email: christopher.polt@bc.edu

Maria Kakavas
Visiting Assistant Professor
Classical Languages and Literature and
Modern Greek
Ph.D., Boston University;
M.A., Boston College
Office: Stokes S244
Email: maria.kakavas@bc.edu

Mark Thatcher
Visiting Assistant Professor; Director of the Ancient Civilization Minor
Greek History and Literature
Ph.D. Brown University
Office: Stokes S245
Email: mark.thatcher@bc.edu

Hanne Eisenfeld
Lecturer
Greek Literature and Ancient Religion
Ph.D. The Ohio State University
Office: Stokes S239
Email: eisenfel@bc.edu

Elizabeth H. Sutherland
Lecturer
Gender Theory and Augustan Latin Literature
Ph.D., M.A., University of California, Berkeley
Office: Stokes S246
Email elizabeth.sutherland@bc.edu

Retired and Research Faculty


Charles F. Ahern
Associate Professor (retired)
Greek and Latin Literature, especially late
Republican and Augustan
Ph.D., M.Phil., Yale University
Email: charles.ahern.1@bc.edu

Dia M. L. Philippides
Research Professor
Literary Computing, Ancient Greek Drama,
Modern Greek Literature
Ph.D., M.A., Princeton University;
M.A., Boston College
Office: Carney 238
Email: dia.philippides@bc.edu

Associated Faculty


Michael J. Connolly
Linguistics
Ph.D., Harvard University
Email: michael.conolly.1@bc.edu

Kenneth M. Craig
Fine Arts
Ph.D., Bryn Mawr College
Email: kenneth.craig.1@bc.edu

Mary Crane
Thomas F. Rattigan Professor/Chair
A.B., Harvard College
Ph.D., Harvard University
Email: mary.crane.1@bc.edu

John A. Darr
Theology
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Email: john.darr@bc.edu

Yonder Gillihan
Theology
Ph.D., Chicago
Email: yonder.gillihan@bc.edu

Gary Gurtler, S.J.
Philosophy
Ph.D., Fordham University
Email: gary.gurtler@bc.edu

Arthur Madigan, S.J.
Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Email: arthur.madigan@bc.edu

Pheme Perkins
Theology
Ph.D., Harvard University
Email: pheme.perkins@bc.edu

John H. Rosser
History
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Email: john.rosser@bc.edu

Margaret A. Schatkin
Theology
Ph.D., Fordham University
Email: margaret.schatkin@bc.edu

David Vanderhooft
Theology
Ph.D. Harvard
Email: David.Vanderhooft@bc.edu

Administrative Support


Gail Rider
Phone: 617-552-3315
Office: Stokes 260S

Join us on Social Media