Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Faculty and Staff

classical studies

Faculty


Charles F. Ahern
Associate Professor (retired)
Greek and Latin Literature, especially
late Republican and Augustan
Ph.D., M.Phil., Yale University
Email charles.ahern.1@bc.edu

Kendra J. Eshleman
Associate Professor; Chair and Director of
  Undergraduate Studies in Classics
Roman Cultural History, Early Christianity
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Stokes S237
Email kendra.eshleman@bc.edu

Gail L. Hoffman
Assistant Professor; Director of Graduate
  Studies in Classics
Greek Art and Archeology
Ph.D., M.A., University of Michigan
Stokes South
Email gail.hoffman@bc.edu

Maria Kakavas
Visiting Assistant Professor
Classical Languages and Literature
and Modern Greek
Ph.D., Boston University;
M.A., Boston College
Stokes S244
Email maria.kakavas@bc.edu

Dia M. L. Philippides
Research Professor
Literary Computing, Ancient Greek Drama, Modern Greek Literature
Ph.D., M.A., Princeton University;
M.A., Boston College
Carney 238
Email dia.philippides@bc.edu

Elizabeth H. Sutherland
Lecturer
Gender Theory and Augustan Latin Literature
Ph.D., M.A., University of California, Berkeley
Stokes S246
Email elizabeth.sutherland@bc.edu

Mark Thatcher
Visiting Assistant Professor; Director of the
  Ancient Civilization Minor
Greek History and Literature
Ph.D. Brown University
Stokes S245
Email: mark.thatcher@bc.edu

Administrative Support


Gail Rider
617-552-3315
Stokes 260S

Associated Faculty


Michael J. Connolly
Linguistics
Ph.D., Harvard University
Email michael.conolly.1@bc.edu

Kenneth M. Craig
Fine Arts
Ph.D., Bryn Mawr College
Email kenneth.craig.1@bc.edu

Mary Crane
Thomas F. Rattigan Professor/Chair
A.B., Harvard College
Ph.D., Harvard University
Email: mary.crane.1@bc.edu

John A. Darr
Theology
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Email john.darr@bc.edu

Gary Gurtler, S.J.
Philosophy
Ph.D., Fordham University
Email gary.gurtler@bc.edu

Arthur Madigan, S.J.
Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Email arthur.madigan@bc.edu

Pheme Perkins
Theology
Ph.D., Harvard University
Email pheme.perkins@bc.edu

John H. Rosser
History
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Email john.rosser@bc.edu

Margaret A. Schatkin
Theology
Ph.D., Fordham University
Email margaret.schatkin@bc.edu

Join us on Social Media