Winter/Spring 2010

The Wang Lab lights up Fanfest!

Two of BC’s stellar programs – Chemistry and football – met up last fall at the Boston College Fanfest, a pre-game event in Conte Forum.   >>

Professor Amir H. Hoveyda wins 2010 Yamada-Koga Prize

The Joseph T. and Patricia Vanderslice Millennium Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Chemistry Department has been named recipient of this prestigious award which is given annually by the Chemical Society of Japan to an organic chemistry who has had a major impact in the field of synthesis of optically active compounds.   >>

ISPAC Award to Professor Lawrence T. Scott

Professor Lawrence T. Scott, Louise and Jim Vanderslice and Family Chair in Chemistry, was awarded the 2009 Research Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions to the field of polycyclic aromatic compound research.   >>

Professor Udayan Mohanty is Guggenheim Fellow

Professor Udayan Mohanty is only the second BC scientist to be named a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellow in the 83 years since the award's inception.   >>

Dr. E. Joseph Billo recipient of Hill Award

At the October 2009 meeting of the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society (NESACS) the 2009 Henry A. Hill Award was presented to Dr. E. Joseph Billo, retired Professor of Chemistry.   >>

The Davidovits Lab sparks science fair at Orchard Gardens

Members of Professor Paul Davdovits's research group recently helped organize the first-ever middle school science fair at the Orchard Gardens Pilot School in Roxbury, Massachusetts.   >>

Recent Faculty Grants

Chemistry faculty continue to maintain a high level of sponsored research activity. For a list of recent grants awarded, please see:   >>

Congratulations to our Recent Graduates

In August 2009, Drs. David Finnegan, Krista Granger, and Zhen You - from the research group of Professor Marc Snapper - received their Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry, and Professor Jianmin Gao's student, Ms. Kristen Demick, received her M.S. degree in Chemistry.

December 2009 graduates earning their Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry were: Drs. Heather Cooke, Elisha Fielding, Ye Liu, and Timothy Montavon from Professor Steven D. Bruner's group; Dr. Brian Steinberg from Professor Lawrence T. Scott's group; and Dr. Mingming Pu from Professor Mary F. Roberts's group. Professor Kian Tan's student, Ms. Moriah Gagnon, received her M.S. degree in Chemistry.

Dr. John Kozarich
Honored as ACS 2009 Distinguished Scientist.   >>

Dr. Michael Kurylo
Dr. Michael Kurylo '66
Lauded for his work on the protection of the Earth's stratospheric ozone, Dr. Kurylo was awarded the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's International Ozone Protection Award, the latest in a series of awards which recognize his many career accomplishments.   >>

For more Alumni News   >>

We'd love to hear from you; please send your Alumni News to:   >>

NMR Makeover

See how over $1.5 million in funding has transformed the department's NMR Facility.   >>

Publications by Teaching Labs Staff

Building on laboratory experiences with students and collaborations with campus educators, Chemistry Teaching Lab staff produce key publications on learning and mentoring.   >>

April 16 & 17, 2010
Bristol-Myers Squibb Lecturer
Professor Alois Fürstner
, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung

For Seminar info:   >>

In This Issue:

Boston College Chemistry Department
Merkert Chemistry Center, 2609 Beacon Street, Chestnut Hill, MA 02467-3860