Professor Amir Hoveyda ranked as one of the Top 100 Chemists

Professor Amir Hoveyda has recently been identified as one of the Top 100 Chemists in the world for the last decade.  >>

Professor Kian Tan Awarded 2011 Sloan Research Fellowship

Assistant Professor of Chemistry Kian L. Tan has been named a 2011 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow.  This highly competitive award recognizes early-career scientists whose work shows outstanding promise and provides financial support for fundamental research.   >>

Professor Dunwei Wang wins NSF CAREER Award

Professor Dunwei Wang has received a prestigious career award from the National Science Foundation to further his research efforts over the next five years.    >>

Dr. Jeffery A. Byers Joins Chemistry Faculty

Dr. Jeffery A. Byers has joined the department as an assistant professor of organic chemistry this summer.   >>

Fang Gao wins Bristol-Myers-Squibb Graduate Fellowship

Fang Gao, a 5th year graduate student in Professor Amir H. Hoveyda’s group, has been chosen to receive the 2011-2012 Bristol-Myers Squibb Graduate Fellowship in Synthetic Organic Chemistry.   >>

Steven Malcolmson wins Reaxys PhD Prize

Dr. Steven Malcolmson, who earned his Ph.D. in Professor Amir Hoveyda’s group, was selected as a recipient of the highly competitive 2011 Reaxys PhD Prize.   >>

John Kozarich Summer Undergraduate Research Fellows Named

Recipients of the 2011 Kozarich Summer Undergraduate Fellowship engage in research in faculty laboratories at the Merkert Chemistry Center, alongside teams of postdoctoral fellows and graduate students.   >>

Chemistry Department Awards Ceremony

Signaling the end of the academic year, The Chemistry Department Student Award Ceremony recognizes the achievement of undergraduate and graduate students.   >>

Summer 2011 Seminars

The Chemistry Department offers a robust series of seminars and talks throughout the academic year and summer, featuring distinguished scientists from industry and academe. All talks are held at the Merkert Chemistry Center and are open to members of the scientific community.   >>

Snapper Lab Builds Polycyclic Lactones by Powerful Tandem Catalytic Reaction Sequences   >>

A Boron-Based Synthesis of the Natural Product (+)-trans-Dihydrolycoricidine   >>

Enantioselective Conjugate Addition of SiMe2Ph Catalyzed by a Chiral N-Heterocyclic Carbene   >>

Catalytic Z-Selective Olefin Cross-Metathesis for Natural Product Synthesis   >>

Nature’s Clever Use of Thermal Fluctuations   >>

Zinc(II)-Catalysis of Keteniminium Ion Formation Enables a New Approach to Four-Membered Rings   >>

Professor Kian Tan's synthesis of beta-amino-aldehydes   >>

Professor Lawrence Scott’s article highlighted on the cover of Journal of Materials Chemistry   >>

Alumni Spotlight: Charles Johannes

Dr. Charles Johannes has assumed the role of Head of Organic Chemistry at the Institute of Chemical and Engineering Sciences (ICES).   >>

Alumni Notes   >>

We'd love to hear from you; please send your Alumni News to:   >>

Boston College Chemistry Department
Merkert Chemistry Center, 2609 Beacon Street, Chestnut Hill, MA 02467-3860