Home Page Faculty & Research Seminars Graduate Studies Undergraduate Studies Latest News Newsletter Department Info
Seminar Series: Front Row

The Merkert Chemistry Center is pleased to present some of our distinguished lecturers on Front Row. Front Row is a service of Boston College’s Office of Marketing Communications.

Architecture in Nanospace
Sir Harold Kroto
Francis Eppes Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Florida State University
1996 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry

Engineering microbial metabolism for production of anti-malarial drugs

From Bugs to Biofuels
Dr. Jay D. Keasling
Professor of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, University of California, Berkeley
Hubbard Howe Jr. Distinguished Professor of Biochemical Engineering
Director, Physical Biosciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Synthetic Biology Engineering Research Center
CEO, Joint BioEnergy Institute
April 15, 16, & 17, 2009
2008/2009 University Lecturer in Chemistry sponsored by Sigma-Aldrich

Landscapes of the Sciences
Professor Peter Wolynes
Francis H.C. Crick Professor of Physical Sciences, University of California at San Diego
15 April 2008
2007/2008 University Lecturer in Chemistry sponsored by Sigma-Aldrich

The Discovery and Development of High Oxidation State Catalysts for the Metathesis of Alkenes and Alkynes

Applications of High Oxidation State Metathesis Catalysts in Organic and Polymer Chemistry

Catalytic Reduction of Dinitrogen to Ammonia with Protons and Electrons
Professor Richard R. Schrock
Frederick G. Keyes Professor of Chemistry at MIT
2005 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry
21 – 23 March 2007
2006/2007 University Lecturer in Chemistry sponsored by Sigma-Aldrich

Science for Global Policy
Dr. George H. Atkinson
Science & Technology Advisor to Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice
11 April 2006