Honors and Awards

2015 Student Awards

The Chemistry Department at Boston College is dedicated to providing a challenging environment for both undergraduate and graduate students. We are pleased that our students not only meet but often exceed our expectations when faced with the demands of their coursework and research experiences. Today, we acknowledge the accomplishments of those students who have received recognition at the departmental, collegial, national, and international levels. These enthusiastic and dedicated scholars exemplify the high standards of our department, and we look forward to observing their future contributions to the scientific community.

Graduate Student Awards

2014/2015 Bristol-Myers Graduate Fellowship in Synthetic Organic Chemistry

      Fanke Meng

Alfred Bader Award for Student Innovation

      R. Kashif Khan

Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Abroad

      Fanke Meng
      Jin Xie
      Kai Hong

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship (Honorable Mention)

      Rachel Kelemen

John LaMattina Graduate Fellowship

      Andrew Baggett
      J. Ryan Coombs
      Hwanjong Jang

The Brian Lawrence Gray Award for Best Posters at BC Chemistry Graduate Symposium

      Emma Edelstein
      Pan Hu
      Yunan Zheng

Chemistry Department Graduate Student Service Award

      Alexandra Annis
      Tyler Bechtel
      Kelly McCarthy
      Allison Young

The Donald J. White Teaching Excellence Awards

      Tyler Bechtel
      Lauren Blair
      Emma Edelstein
      James Thorne
      Allison Young

Undergraduate Student Awards

The Boston College Excellence in Chemistry Award

      Corleone Delaveris

The Merck Index Award

      Omar Khan

2015 Brian Lawrence Gray Prize

      Erik Liu

Distinguished Performance on Senior Comprehensive Exam

      Corleone Delaveris
      Rutvin Kyada

The 2014 ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry

      Julia Curley

The 2015 ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

      Stephen Trudeau

2015 CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award for General Chemistry

      Carly Pickett

2015 CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award for Honors Modern Chemistry

      Elise Hon

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship

      Corleone Delaveris

John Kozarich Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship 2015

      Nikhil Tasker
      Paige Carleen
      Matthew Golden
      Xiaofu Cao

Summer Research Fellowship from the Jolane Solomon Research Fund in Memory of Dr. Atena Necula

      Melissa Chin

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

      James Brogan

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

      James Brogan

Phi Beta Kappa Class of 2015

      Chantal Barksdale (Biochemistry)
      Corleone Delaveris (Chemistry)
      Omar Khan, elected in 2014 (Biochemistry)
      Johanna O’Day (Biochemistry)
      Ellen White (Biochemistry)
      Lauren Yablon (Chemistry)

2015 Dean’s Scholars

      James Brogan (Chemistry/Physics)
      Leslie Carandang (Biochemistry)
      Julia Curley (Chemistry)
      Ian Madden (Chemistry/Physics)
      Erica Mascarenhas (Biochemistry)
      Stephen Trudeau (Biochemistry)

2015 Sophomore Scholars

      Ilektra Andoni (Biochemistry)
      Xiaofu Cao (Biochemistry)
      Angel Jiang (Chemistry/Hispanic Studies)
      Erik Liu (Chemistry)
      Ciaran Murphy (Biochemistry)
      Matthew Perryman (Biochemistry)
      Emily Rosenthal (Biochemistry)
      Inchul You (Biochemistry)

2015 Scholars of the College

Corleone Delaveris
“In Silico Design of Improved Catalysts for Kemp Elimination: Syntheses and Kinetic Studies”
(Marc Snapper, advisor)

Lauren Yablon
“Synthesis of Functionalized Cyclic Diesters for Use in Ring Opening Polymerization Reactions”
(Jeffery Byers, advisor)

Omar Khan
“Development of a Peptide-Based Probe Targeting Protein Disulfide Isomerase, Isoform A1”
(Eranthie Weerapana, advisor)

Women in Science and Technology Program

This student-run outreach program, now in its eighth year, is designed to inspire the next generation of women scientists. The month-long Saturday series brings together female students from Boston area high schools for research, experiments, lectures, field trips, and the opportunity to meet mentors and role models from scientific disciplines. The Boston College undergraduate students listed below volunteered their time, energy, and enthusiasm to make this program a great success.


  • Shannon Louie
  • Catherine Riccio


  • Shannon Louie
  • Catherine Riccio

Subject Leaders

  • Ashley Flinn
  • Elise Uberti
  • Xia Yearwood-Garcia


  • Xinni Cai
  • Johanna (Hanna) O’Day
  • Vivian (Elon) Phan

Boston College Department of Chemistry

Merkert Center, Boston College, 2609 Beacon Street, Chestnut Hill, MA 02467-3860
© 2016 Boston College Chemistry