Skip to content

Three Connell School Faculty to Be Honored in April

By Kathleen Sullivan | Chronicle Staff

Published: Feb. 13, 2014

Three Connell School of Nursing faculty members will be honored for their contributions to the nursing profession by the Massachusetts Association of Registered Nurses (MARN) at its convention in April.

The MARN awards recognize those nurses who have made a difference at the bedside, in the classroom and in the practice of nursing.

Associate Professor Judith Shindul-Rothschild will receive the Mary A. Manning Mentoring Award, given annually to a nurse who exemplifies the ideal image of a mentor and has established a record of consistent outreach to nurses in practice or in the pursuit of advanced education. Shindul-Rothschild, a certified psychiatric nurse clinical specialist, teaches psychiatric mental health nursing to undergraduates and graduate students. She is a Distinguished Practitioner in the National Academy of Practice, a member of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association and a past president of the Massachusetts Nurses Association.

Assistant Professor Lichuan Ye, whose research has focused on women with sleep disorders, will receive the Excellence in Nursing Research Award. Ye is a member of the Sleep Research Society and her work has appeared in the Journal of Nursing Administration, Journal of Sleep Research and Behavioral Sleep Medicine.

Associate Professor Emeritus Jean O’Neil will receive the Excellence in Nursing Education Award. During her tenure at the Connell School, O’Neil was involved in theory, clinical and on-line teaching for students from the baccalaureate to the PhD levels, as well as the continuing education program.

“They’ve all made a difference and they’re all passionate about what they do,” said Lisa Presutti, an administrator for MARN, an affiliate of the American Nurses Association dedicated to advancing the profession of nursing in Massachusetts through advocacy, leadership development, enhanced diversity, education and mentorship.

Angela Bowser of the Connell School of Nursing contributed to this story.