Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Student Leadership Awards

Each year, the Student Programs Office (SPO) through the Division of Student Affairs presents awards to outstanding members of the Boston College community. Student awards recognize the individual's contribution to their co-curricular life at the University, their growth in leadership roles, and their creative involvement in campus life. There are also two awards that recognize the outstanding contributions of a faculty or staff member. This year's Student Leadership Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday April 30, 2012.


If you have any questions, please contact Mer Zovko at or 617-552-3480.

2011-2012 Student Award Winners:

Nicholas H. Woods Award To the freshman who demonstrated initiative, motivation, and potential for continued student leadership within the university. 

    Winner: Jonathan Lacoste, CSOM, 2015

Timothy M. Padulsky Award To the sophomore who mentored and encouraged other students to develop effective skills in inclusive leadership and teamwork.

    Winner: Allison McQueen, A&S, 2014

Junior Year Award To the junior who embraced the changes embedded in the junior year experience and has been instrumental in creating community in their present environment, be it off-campus, abroad, or here on campus.

    Winner: Christopher Faherty, A&S, 2013

Brian D.A. Hall Award To the senior who demonstrated a deep level of committment to a student program or organization, and whose leadership  advanced the mission of the organization and enhanced the quality of student life.

    Winner: Hanyin Cheng, A&S, 2012

St. Ignatius Award for Personal Development To the student whose values and ideals have most clearly undergone a transformation and/or deepening through his or her participation in co-curricular activities.

    Winner: Yini Guan, LSOE, 2014

Jeffrey S. Keith Award To the student who faced a physical or other significant challenge in his or her life while continuing to excel in academic and co-curricular activities.

    Winner: Dana Bogan, A&S, 2012

St. Ignatius Award for Faith In Action To the student who exemplified the imperative to "Seek God in All Things," and demonstrated love for God by serving his or her neighbor and inspiring others within the co-curricular environment to do the same.

    Winner: Emily Charnowski, A&S, 2012

The RSO of the Year Award To the Registered Student Organization (RSO) who exemplified their stated mission and enriched student life through their programmatic efforts.  Awarded by the Student Programs Office.

    Winner: The Philippine Society

St. Alphonsus Rodriguez Award To the student employee who went far beyond his or her paid responsibilities by fostering an atmosphere of hospitality, care, and concern, and who modeled student leadership by developing relationships, empowering others, and creating community at the University.

    Winner: Jesus Damian Baeza, LSOE, 2012

"Ever to Excel" Award To the student group who made an outstanding contribution to Boston College in areas such as education, social justice, service, safety, etc.

    Winner: Eagle EMS

Congressman John Joseph Moakley Award To the student who, in international service and volunteer work, most clearly demonstrated a passion for faith and a desire to see that faith enflesh itself in justice in the world.  Awarded by Campus Ministry.

    Winner: MacLean Cadman, A&S, 2012

Alfred Feliciano and Valerie Lewis Award To the student who made extraordinary contributions to further the ideals of the AHANA (African-American, Hispanic, Asian, and Native American) acronym, and who provided leadership to help the Boston College community actualize the AHANA concept.   Awarded by the Office of AHANA Student Programs.

    Winner: Irza Torres, LSOE, 2012

Welles Remy Crowther Award To the student who demonstrated selfless sacrifice and determination in serving the needs of others.  Awarded by the Volunteer and Service Learning Center.

    Winner: Claire Geruson, LSOE, 2013

Robert A. Sherwood Award To the student who demonstrated a commitment and contribution to community and civic engagement through excellence in his or her leadership and service to the Boston College community and beyond.  Awarded by the Office of the Dean for Student Development.

    Winner: Conor Sullivan, LSOE, 2013

Faculty/Staff Awards

Reverend John R. Trzaska, S.J. Award
To the faculty member who expanded the horizons, skills, and value systems of Boston College students by providing support and guidance outside of the classroom.

    Winner: Jeff Flagg, Romance Languages

Mary Kaye Waldron Award To the faculty member, administrator, or employee who demonstrated a continual commitment to the ideals of Boston College with a self-evident belief in the need to enhance student life in a positive manner.  The Mary Kaye Waldron Award was established in 1996 in honor of Mary Kaye Waldron, a BC student who died of cancer in 1995.

    Winner: Marina Pastrana, The Montserrat Coalition