st. mary's hall
St. Mary's Hall
Named after St. Mary's Church in Boston, to which the Jesuits were called in 1847, St. Mary's Hall is located across Linden Lane from Bapst Library.
Boston College was originally established in 1863 in Boston's South End and remained in that location until 1913, when the students arrived on the new Chestnut Hill campus. While Gasson Hall was available to serve as a classroom building for the first students, there were no residence facilities for the members of the Jesuit faculty. Therefore, for the next four years (1913–1917), the Jesuits commuted daily by streetcar and by automobile from the Old College in downtown Boston to the new campus on Chestnut Hill.
Shortly after New Year's 1917, the Jesuits took formal possession of St. Mary's Hall, the second building constructed on the Chestnut Hill campus. With its graceful arches of Gothic windows encircling the lower floors, the new building was designed to conform to the impressive architectural plans for the University. St. Mary's upper three floors contain living quarters for the Jesuits; the first floor is given over to the Jesuits' dining room, common room, visitors' parlors, and a small library. The north end contains St. Mary's Chapel, a "Gothic gem," as one Jesuit described it, with a marble altar, oak pews, a carved oak ceiling, and a choir loft. A southern wing was added to the structure in 1930, providing a covered cloister walk running north and west to enclose a small garden.