Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Information Technology Services

Keeping Multiple Copies of a File

myfiles@bc

Once you turn versioning on for a file, MyFiles@bc automatically saves a version of the file each time the file is updated. This allows you to go back and use an older version of the file. With versioning turned on, you can also lock and unlock a file, which allows you to make multiple edits to a file without saving multiple versions of that file. Learn more about locking and unlocking files.

Learn how to:


 

Turning versioning on or off

To turn versioning on or off:

  1. Locate the file for which you want to turn on versioning. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Check the box next to the file, then click Manage (see Figure 1).
    managing
    Figure 1
  3. Click Versioning (see Figure 2). 
    Figure 2
    Figure 2
  4. Either:
    Click Enable Versioning (see Figure 3) to turn versioning on.

    -
    OR-

    Click Disable Versioning (see Figure 4), then OK to turn versioning off.
    Note: By clicking OK all your versions will be deleted.
     Figure 3
    Figure 3

     Figure 4
    Figure 4

Turn Versioning On or Off for All Files in a Folder

  1. Locate the folder for which you want to turn on versioning. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Check the box next to the folder, then click Manage (see Figure 5).
    back to school
    Figure 5.

  3. Select Default Versioning (see Figure 6).
    default versioning
    Figure 6.

  4. From the Default Versioning is: menu select either On to enable versioning or Off to disable versioning (see Figure 7).
    default versioning on
    Figure 7.

  5. If you would like versioning to apply to the contents of sub-folders within the folder you selected, check the box next to Apply this setting to all sub-folders as well as all files (see Figure 8).
    apply setting to all folders
    Figure 8.

  6. Click Apply (see Figure 9).
    apply button
    Figure 9.

Viewing an older version of a file

To view an older version of a file (only if versioning is already on):

  1. Locate the file for which you want to view version. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Check the box next to the file, then click Manage (see Figure 5).
    manage settings
    Figure 5
  3. Click Versioning (see Figure 6). 
    versioning 
    Figure 6
  4. Click the Version Number of the file you want to view (see Figure 7).
    version number
    Figure 7
  5. To edit the file, save it multiple times without creating multiple versions of it, and keep other people from saving changes to the file until you are done, learn how to lock a file.

 

Copying an older version of a file

To copy an older version of a file:

  1. Locate the file for which you want to copy version. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Check the box next to the file, then click Manage (see Figure 8).
    manage settings
    Figure 8
  3. Click Versioning (see Figure 9).
    versioning
    Figure 9
  4. Check the box next to the version you want to copy, then click Copy (see Figure 10).
     check version number
    Figure 10
  5. In the Destination box, enter the folder path to put the copy of the file in (see Figure 11).

    - OR -

    Use the pull-down arrow to browse to find a folder (see Figure 11).
    browse folders
    Figure 11
  6. Click OK.
    A copy of the file now appears in the folder you specified.