EN 141 American Literary History I (Spring: 3)

Students need not take these courses in chronological order.
Fulfills the pre-1900 requirement.

From Anne Bradstreet's meditation on the burning of her house to Thoreau's determination to simply his life, from Frederick Douglass' denunciation of slavery to the troubling passivity of Melville's Bartleby—EN 141 provides an overview of American literary history between the landing of the Mayflower and the start of the Civil War. In addition to those already mentioned, writers studied will include Mary Rowlandson, Edward Taylor, Olaudah Equiano, Benjamin Franklin, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Susanna Rowson, and Walt Whitman.
Paul Lewis

Last Updated: 10-JAN-13