Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

William F. Connell School of Nursing

Faculty

william f. connell school of nursing

Jane E. Ashley, Ph.D., RN

Jane E. Ashley, Ph.D., RN
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 304  |  617-552-4155  |  jane.ashley@bc.edu
Nursing care of the surgical patient; strategies to improve test performance

Stacey Hoffman Barone, Ph.D., RN, CNS

Stacey Hoffman Barone, Ph.D., RN, CNS
Associate Clinical Professor
Cushing Hall 308  |  617-552-8059  |  stacey.barone@bc.edu
Chronic illness and adaptation

Viola G. Benavente, Ph.D., RN, CNS

Viola G. Benavente, Ph.D., RN, CNS
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 425  |  617-552-0180  |  viola.benavente@bc.edu
Cardiovascular health disparities among Latinas and other Hispanics; coronary heart disease prevention and health promotion; cardiovascular risk and symptom management; preventive science and gender differences

Ellen M. Bishop, M.S., FNP-BC

Ellen M. Bishop, M.S., FNP-BC
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 336J  |  617-552-0179  |  ellen.bishop@bc.edu
primary care; family and women's care

file

Marie Boltz, Ph.D., RN, GNP-BC
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 424
Intervention to promote functional health and cognition in older adults; caregiving efficacy and coping with dementia and delirium; complex aging related care issues; translational and health services research

Stewart M. Bond, Ph.D., RN, AOCN

Stewart M. Bond, Ph.D., RN, AOCN
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 336D  |  617-552-4275  |  stewart.bond@bc.edu
Cancer symptom management; neuropsychiatric symptoms in patients with cancer; delirium; care of older adults with cancer; frailty

Ann Wolbert Burgess, D.N.S., RNCS, FAAN

Ann Wolbert Burgess, D.N.Sc., RNCS, FAAN
Professor
Cushing Hall 414  |  617-552-6133 | ann.wolbertburgess@bc.edu
Psychiatric/mental health response patterns of crime victims; internet crimes against children

Rosemary F. Byrne, RN, M.S., FNP-BC

Rosemary F. Byrne, RN, M.S., FNP-BC
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 419  |  617-552-1834 |  rosemary.byrne@bc.edu
Care of underserved populations, particularly the Hispanic population; international work in Ecuador, Guatemala, and Nicaragua

file

Sean P. Clarke, RN, Ph.D., FAAN
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs and Professor
Cushing Hall 202G  |  617-552-3232 |  clarkese@bc.edu
Organizational aspects of health care safety and quality; nursing administration research; occupational health and safety of nurses; policy and program evaluation; nursing and health care systems

Maureen Connolly, RN, APRN, BC

Maureen Connolly, RN, ANP-BC, MSN
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 418  |  617-552-0166  |  maureen.connolly.2@bc.edu

Donna L. Cullinan, M.S., RN, FNP

Donna L. Cullinan, M.S., RN, FNP
Clinical Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 419  |  617-552-1926  |  donna.cullinan@bc.edu
Health promotion especially with vulnerable populations, global health especially Haiti, school health, geriatric home care, the homeless

Susan DeSanto-Madeya, Ph.D., RN, CNS

Susan DeSanto-Madeya, Ph.D., RN, CNS
Clinical Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 309  |  617-552-0371  |  susan.desanto-madeya@bc.edu
Palliative care, end of life care

Joyce K. Edmonds, RN, M.P.H., Ph.D.

Joyce K. Edmonds, RN, M.P.H., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 422  |  617-552-2838  |  joyce.edmonds@bc.edu
maternal health; health seeking behavior; social networks

Susan Emery, Ph.D., CRNA

Susan Emery, Ph.D., CRNA
Nurse Anesthesia Program Director
Cushing Hall 326  |  617-552-6844  |  susan.emery@bc.edu
Chemistry and physics of nurse anesthesia practice; pharmacology of anesthetics; anesthesia for geriatrics patients; endocrine and renal physiology and pathophysiology; operating room communication

William Fehder, Ph.D., RN, CRNA

William Fehder, Ph.D., RN, CRNA
Clinical Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 310  |  617-552-4250  |  william.fehder@bc.edu
Salivary biomarkers of pain and anxiety as measures for nursing research and care

Jane M. Flanagan, Ph.D., ANP-BC

Jane M. Flanagan, Ph.D., ANP-BC
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 336I | 617-552-8949  |  jane.flanagan@bc.edu
Patient and family experiences of chronic illness; the integration of nursing theory and aesthetics into nursing care; spirituality, forgiveness and healing

Holly B. Fontenot, Ph.D., RN, WHNP-BC

Holly B. Fontenot, Ph.D., RN, WHNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 302  |  617-552-1846  |  holly.fontenot@bc.edu
Women’s health, human papillomavirus (HPV), sexual health and safety, forensic nursing

Susan Gennaro, RN, D.S.N., FAAN

Susan Gennaro, RN, Ph.D., FAAN
Dean and Professor
Cushing Hall 203E  |  617-552-1710  |  susan.gennaro@bc.edu
Perinatal nursing practice; perinatal education; stress in families with preterm infants; global women’s health

Pamela J. Grace, Ph.D., RN, FAAN

Pamela J. Grace, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 336E  |  617-552-1246  |  pamela.grace.2@bc.edu
All aspects of nursing and healthcare ethics especially issues of professional obligation towards individuals and society;  ethical decision making; problem analysis; philosophy of nursing

Allyssa L. Harris, RN, Ph.D., WHNP-BC

Allyssa L. Harris, RN, Ph.D., WHNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 302  |  617-552-0550  |  allyssa.harris@bc.edu
Adolescent sexual risk behaviors, media influences, urban health and healthcare disparities

Dorean Behney, RN, M.S.N.

Dorean Behney Hurley, M.S.N., RN, CCRN
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 418  |  617-552-1037  |  dorean.behney@bc.edu
Adult health; critical care; trauma

M. Katherine Hutchinson, Ph.D., RN, FAAN

M. Katherine Hutchinson, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
Associate Dean, Graduate Programs and Professor
Cushing Hall 202 M  |  617-552-2613  |  kathy.hutchinson@bc.edu
Adolescent and young adult HIV-related sexual risk behaviors; family and community influence of adolescent health and sexual risk behaviors; parent-teen sexual communication; family-based HIV risk reduction interventions; global family health

Dorothy A. Jones, Ed.D., RNC, ANP, FAAN

Dorothy A. Jones, Ed.D., RNC, ANP, FAAN
Professor
Cushing Hall 336B  |  617-552-4058  |  dorothy.jones@bc.edu
Patient recovery at home following ambulatory surgery with local and general anesthesia; psychometric properties of Functional Health Pattern Screening Assessment Tool (FHPSAT) across populations and cultural groups; evaluation of Professional Practice Model and impact of nurse empowerment, decision making and satisfaction; development and testing of a practice model grounded in Margaret Newman's Theory of Health as Expanding consciousness

Carina Katigbak

Carina Katigbak, Ph.D., RN
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 336K  |  617-552-8718 |  carina.katigbak@bc.edu
Immigrant and minority health; health disparities; hypertension community health; and community-based participatory research

Susan Kelly-Weeder, Ph.D., FNP-BC

Susan Kelly-Weeder, Ph.D., FNP-BC
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 420  |  617-552-8018  |  susan.kelly-weeder@bc.edu
Women's experiences with infertility; women's health and health risk reduction in women; disordered eating; binge drinking in college aged women; disordered eating and alcohol use in college aged women

file

Kyung Hee Lee, Ph.D., RN, GNP-C, MPH
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 318
Psychological well-being of people with dementia; Emotional response to nursing care; observational study and trajectory analysis

Ellen K. Mahoney, RN, Ph.D., FGSA

Ellen K. Mahoney, RN, Ph.D., FGSA
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 426  |  617-552-4262  |  ellen.mahoney@bc.edu
Human responses in chronic illness/disability; patterns of behavior in persons with dementia; nursing interventions to promote functional ability in the elderly; recovery from stroke

Kathleen Mansfield

Kathleen Mansfield, RN, BSN, MS
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 303  |  617-552-2133  |  kathleen.mansfield@bc.edu
Pediatrics

Tam Nguyen

Tam H. Nguyen Ph.D., MSN/MPH, RN
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 336C  |  617-552-3669 |  tam.nguyen@bc.edu
Health promotion/disease prevention; chronic disease management; vulnerable/hard to reach populations; community-based participatory research; and psychometrics

Luanne Nugent, D.N.P., RN, M.S.N., CNS

Luanne Nugent, D.N.P., RN, M.S.N., CNS
Clinical Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 336J  |  617-552-8011  |  luanne.nugent@bc.edu
Nursing care of the adult medical-surgical patient, omissions of nursing care, "Nursing Scene Investigator Model"

file

Melissa Pérez, RN, M.S., WHNP-BC
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 302 |  perezmz@bc.edu
Maternal/child health; adolescent preventative care

Nanci Peters, M.S.N., RN, CPNP

Nanci Peters, M.S.N., RN, CPNP
Clinical Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 336L  |  617-552-4271  |  nanci.peters.2@bc.edu
Urgent and primary care experience; home-care, rehab and case management; caring for pediatric patients with a variety of diagnoses and special health care needs.

Catherine Yetter Read, Ph.D., RN

Catherine Yetter Read, Ph.D., RN
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 334F  |  617-552-6418  |  catherine.read@bc.edu
Health promotion and psychological adaptation in persons with or at risk for genetic disease; genetics in nursing education; excellence and diversity in baccalaureate nursing education

Richard Ross, S.J. RN

Richard Ross, S.J., RN, M.Div., S.T.L.
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 305  |  617-552-3425  |  richard.ross@bc.edu
Women's and children's health; professional ethics

Sr. Callista Roy, Ph.D., RN, FAAN

Sr. Callista Roy, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
Professor & Nurse Theorist
Cushing Hall 336F  |  callista.roy@bc.edu
Coping with chronic health conditions; middle range theory for clinical center on symptom assessment and intervention at NIH; conceptualizing and measuring coping; philosophical basis of adaptation nursing; implications of individual and common good for clinical nursing; emerging nursing knowledge and practice outcome

Judith Shindul-Rothschild, Ph.D., RNPC

Judith Shindul-Rothschild, Ph.D., RNPC
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 334C  |  617-552-4270  |  judith.shindul-rothschild@bc.edu
Female athlete triad; eating disorders; staffing and quality of care; licensure and discipline of registered nurses; psychopharmacology

M. Colleen Simonelli, Ph.D., RN

M. Colleen Simonelli, Ph.D., RNC
Clinical Associate Professor and Department Assistant Chair
Cushing Hall 334E  |  617-552-4926  |  colleen.simonelli@bc.edu

Jacqueline Sly, RN, MSN, NP-C

Jacqueline Sly, RN, MSN, NP-C
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 334G  |  617-552-1674 |  jacueline.sly@bc.edu
Clinical education

Amy Smith, M.S.N., CNM, D.N.P.

Amy Smith, M.S.N., CNM, D.N.P.
Clinical Assistant Professor and Director, Clinical Learning and Simulation Centers
Cushing Hall 404  |  617-552-4586  |  amy.smith.9@bc.edu
Patient safety in labor and delivery, the use of simulation based clinical teaching in undergraduate nursing programs, evaluating the value of the nursing process among labor and delivery nurses

Lori Solon, RN, M.S.N., PMHCNS-BC

Lori Solon, RN, M.S.N., PMHCNS-BC, PMHNP-BC
Clinical Instructor
Cushing Hall 334G  |  617-552-6542  |  lori.solon@bc.edu
Life cycle issues of women; postpartum adjustment issues, including postpartum depression; and major mental illness.

Kelly Stamp, Ph.D., APRN, ANP-C

Kelly Stamp, Ph.D., APRN, ANP-C
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 307  |  617-552-2119  |  kelly.stamp@bc.edu
Nurse-led educational interventions; heart failure patients' symptom recognition and decisions regarding their self-care management; barriers to self-care maintenance and management using telehealth technology; integrating technology into the curriculum

Sherri St. Pierre, M.S., APRN, PNP-BC

Sherri St. Pierre, M.S., APRN, PNP-BC
Clinical Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 336L  |  617-552-8008  |  sherri.stpierre@bc.edu
Patient/parent education; student evaluation

Melissa Sutherland, Ph.D., FNP-BC

Melissa Sutherland, Ph.D., FNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 421  |  617-552-8814  |  melissa.sutherland@bc.edu
I
ntimate partner violence; STDs/HIV; health consequences of violence

Patricia A. Tabloski, Ph.D., GNP-BC, FGSA, FAAN

Patricia A. Tabloski, Ph.D., GNP-BC, FGSA, FAAN
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 417  |  617-552-4065  |  patricia.tabloski@bc.edu
Sleep disturbances and non-pharmacologic nursing management of agitation in the elderly; palliative care

Pamela A. Terreri, M.S. RN/PC

Pamela A. Terreri, M.S., RN/PC, PMHNP-BC
Clinical Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 334D  |  617-552-6442  |  pamela.terreri@bc.edu
Symptom management in young adults struggling with anxiety and mood disorders.

Denise Testa, CRNA, M.S.N.

Denise Testa, CRNA, M.S.N.
Nurse Anesthesia Assistant Program Director
Cushing Hall 315  |  617-552-6936  |  denise.testa@bc.edu

 

Judith A. Vessey, Ph.D., DPNP, M.B.A., FAAN

Judith A. Vessey, Ph.D., DPNP, M.B.A., FAAN
Leila Holden Carroll Endowed Professor
Cushing Hall 427  |  617-552-8817  |  judith.vessey@bc.edu
The effect of chronic teasing and bullying on psychological and physical health of children and adolescents; bullying in the workplace care coordination

W. Jean Weyman, Ph.D., RN

W. Jean Weyman, Ph.D., RN
Assistant Dean, Continuing Education
Service Building 211F  |  617-552-0519  |  jean.weyman@bc.edu
Fatigue in working women; RN refresher/reentry

Laura White

Laura White, Ph.D., MS, RN, CPNP 
Clinical Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 334G  |  617-552-1630 |  laura.white.3@bc.edu
Integrative Health Care; mind-body interventions; positive youth development; adolescent mental health in primary care; stress reduction for children and adolescents; and school health

Danny G. Willis, D.N.S., PMHCNS-BC

Danny G. Willis, D.N.S., PMHCNS-BC
Department Chair and Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 336K  |  617-552-6838  |  danny.willis@bc.edu
Healing as a central construct of the discipline of nursing; humanization as a process for promoting social justice and individual and societal well-being; theoretical development of the discipline; loving-kindness meditation; contemplative and reflective modes of being; sound entrainment in healing (Tibetan Buddhist sound bowl); spiritual aspects of healing and the healing arts; men’s health and well-being; qualitative research (philosophical analysis, hermeneutic phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography)

Barbara E. Wolfe, Ph.D., RN, CS, FAAN

Barbara E. Wolfe, Ph.D., RN, CS, FAAN
Associate Dean for Research and Professor
Cushing Hall 433A  |  617-552-1804  |  barbara.wolfe@bc.edu
Eating disorders; anorexia nervosa; bulimia nervosa; serotonin; neurotransmitter regulation; dieting behavior; impulsivity; depression; psychobiology.

Robin Y. Wood, Ed.D., RN

Robin Y. Wood, Ed.D., RN
Associate Professor
Cushing Hall 407A  |  617-552-4088  |  robin.wood@bc.edu
Breast cancer screening and early detection:  intervention programs with high-risk populations; breast cancer risk appraisal; education intervention using high fidelity simulation and human patient simulators

Lichuan Ye, Ph.D., RN

Lichuan Ye, Ph.D., RN
Assistant Professor
Cushing Hall 423  |  617-552-1711  |  lichuan.ye@bc.edu
Symptom presentation, daily functioning, and treatment outcomes in sleep disorders; women with obstructive sleep apnea; gender differences in sleep disorders