Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Current Ph.D. Students — Alphabetical List

history department

Whitney Abernathy Modern French intellectual and cultural history
whitney.abernathy@bc.edu
Rachel Ball Women & gender in modern South Asia ballra@bc.edu
Peter Berard  20th-c. U.S.; intellectual and diplomatic history  peter.berard@bc.edu 
Christine Bertoglio  Social and religious issues in High Medieval England and France  christine.bertoglio@bc.edu 

Jessica Butler

Modern German history jessica.butler.1@bc.edu

Peter Cajka

Religion, politics and ideas in 20th-c. US peter.cajka.1@bc.edu
Katherine Carper 19th-c. US, American immigration, and social history katherine.carper@bc.edu
James Clifton Modern Britain  james.clifton@bc.edu 
Mimi Cowan 19th-c. urban immigration, labor & rtadicalism cowanmb@bc.edu
Matthew Delvaux Archaeology and text in early medieval northwestern Europe matthew.delvaux@bc.edu

Jeffery Dyer

Nineteenth Century Ottoman Empire dyerjd@bc.edu
Regan Eby Eleventh-century Brittany and Benedictine monastic charters ebyr@bc.edu

Erica Foss

19th-century Britain and Ireland erica.foss.1@bc.edu
Michael Franczak Cold War; U.S. foreign and foreign economic policy michael.franczak@bc.edu

Elise Franklin

Modern France; intellectual history elise.franklin.1@bc.edu
Craig Gallagher British Atlantic World craig.gallagher@bc.edu
Ryan Green US Foreign Policy ryan.green@bc.edu
Eric Grube Modern Germany; cultural and political history eric.grube@bc.edu
Daniel Hood Democracy and violence in early-mid 19th-c. Europe daniel.hood@bc.edu
Fumi Inoue Modern Japanese history; Japan-U.S. foreign relations; social movements fumi.inoue@bc.edu
Felix Jimenez  Modern Germany; Human Rights; Latin America
felix.jimenez@bc.edu 
Janet Kay Fifth-century Britain, burial practices and socio-economic change janet.kay@bc.edu
Joanna Kelly Religion, politics and culture in US history joanna.kelly@bc.edu

Amy Limoncelli

Modern Britain amy.limoncelli.1@bc.edu
Michael McLean Western United States History, Native American History, and Environmental History michaemg@bc.edu
Shannon Monaghan Transnational and Transcultural Modern Europe  shannon.monaghan@bc.edu 
John Morton Maine in the Early Republic mortonjo@bc.edu
Alexander Noonan 19th- and 20th-c. U.S. alexander.noonan.1@bc.edu
Natalia Rasmussen Modern German History; Modern European History; Race and racism; African Diaspora natalia.king@bc.edu

Adam Rathge

Late 19th- & 20th-century U.S. rathge@bc.edu
Christopher Riedel

Early medieval pilgrimage and the place of Jerusalem in Western thought

riedelc@bc.edu
David Sessions Modern European intellectual history david.sessions@bc.edu
Christopher Staysniak  20th-c. U.S.; Catholic American history christopher.staysniak@bc.edu
Clayton Trutor 19th-century U.S. social and cultural history trutor@bc.edu

Jesse Tumblin

Modern Britain and Ireland tumblin@bc.edu
Carolyn Twomey Anglo-Saxon ecclesiastical history, liturgy, and art carolyn.twomey.1@bc.edu
Vander Broek, Allison 20th-c. U.S. History, American Catholicism, Social Movements/Social Activism vanderaa@bc.edu

Kasper Volk

Intellectual History; Modern Germany kasper.volk.1@bc.edu

Andrea Wenz

Early modern Italy wenza@bc.edu