Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Student Leadership Awards

Each year, the Student Programs Office (SPO) presents awards to outstanding members of the Boston College community. Student awards recognize the individual's contribution to their co-curricular life at the University, their growth in leadership roles, and their creative involvement in campus life. There are also two awards that recognize the outstanding contributions of a faculty, staff, or administrator. This year's Student Leadership Awards Ceremony were held on Monday April 29, 2013. More

2013 Award Recipients

James Kale II

Nicholas H. Woods Leadership Award

To the freshman who demonstrated initiative, motivation, and potential for continued student leadership within the university.

2013 Winner: James Kale II

Peter Trainor

Timothy M. Padulsky Award 

To the sophomore who mentored and encouraged other students to develop effective skills in inclusive leadership and teamwork.

2013 Winner: Peter Trainor

Megan Cannavina

Junior Year Award 

To the junior who embraced the changes embedded in the junior year experience and has been instrumental in creating community in their present environment, be it off-campus, abroad, or here on campus.

2013 Winner: Megan Cannavina

Rachel Newmiller

Brian D.A. Hall Award

To the senior who demonstrated a deep level of committment to a student program or organization, and whose leadership  advanced the mission of the organization and enhanced the quality of student life.

2013 Winner: Rachel Newmiller

George Hakimeh

St. Ignatius Award for Personal Development

To the student whose values and ideals have most clearly undergone a transformation and/or deepening through his or her participation in co-curricular activities.

2013 Winner: George Hakimeh

Matthew Hutchinson

Jeffrey S. Keith Award

To the student who faced a physical or other significant challenge in his or her life while continuing to excel in academic and co-curricular activities.

2013 Winner: Matthew Hutchinson

Bridget Thomas

St. Ignatius Award for Faith In Action

To the student who exemplified the imperative to "Seek God in All Things," and demonstrated love for God by serving his or her neighbor and inspiring others within the co-curricular environment to do the same.

2013 Winner: Bridget Thomas

Boston College Television

The Student Organization of the Year Award
To the Registered Student Organization (RSO) who exemplified their stated mission and enriched student life through their programmatic efforts. Awarded by the Student Programs Office.

2013 Winner: Boston College Television

Niamh McCarthy

St. Alphonsus Rodriguez Award
To the student employee who went far beyond his or her paid responsibilities by fostering an atmosphere of hospitality, care, and concern, and who modeled student leadership by developing relationships, empowering others, and creating community at the University.

2013 Winner: Niamh McCarthy

4Boston & the 4Boston Council

“Ever to Excel” Award
To the student group who made an outstanding contribution to Boston College in areas such as education, social justice, service, safety, etc.

2013 Winner: 4Boston & the 4Boston Council

Matthew Dolan

Congressman John Joseph Moakley Award

To the student who, in international service and volunteer work, most clearly demonstrated a passion for faith and a desire to see that faith enflesh itself in justice in the world.  Awarded by Campus Ministry.

2013 Winner: Matthew Dolan

Kimberly Rodriguez

Alfred Feliciano and Valerie Lewis Award
To the student who made extraordinary contributions to further the ideals of the AHANA (African-American, Hispanic, Asian, and Native American) acronym, and who provided leadership to help the Boston College community actualize the AHANA concept.   Awarded by the Office of AHANA Student Programs.

2013 Winner: Kimberly Rodriguez

Erin Hall

Welles Remy Crowther Award

To the student who demonstrated selfless sacrifice and determination in serving the needs of others.  Awarded by the Volunteer and Service Learning Center.

2013 Winner: Erin Hall

Jennifer Wanandi

Robert A. Sherwood Award
To the student who demonstrated a commitment and contribution to community and civic engagement through excellence in his or her leadership and service to the Boston College community and beyond.  Awarded by the Office of the Dean for Student Development.

2013 Winner: Jennifer Wanandi

Brad Harrington

Reverend John R. Trzaska, S.J. Award

To the faculty member who expanded the horizons, skills, and value systems of Boston College students by providing support and guidance outside of the classroom.

2013 Winner: Brad Harrington

Mary Hennessey

Mary Kaye Waldron Award
To the faculty member, administrator, or employee who demonstrated a continual commitment to the ideals of Boston College with a self-evident belief in the need to enhance student life in a positive manner.  The Mary Kaye Waldron Award was established in 1996 in honor of Mary Kaye Waldron, a BC student who died of cancer in 1995.

2013 Winner: Mary Hennessey