Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Information Technology Services

Sharing Files and Folders

myfiles@bc

Learn how to:

Sharing your files or folders with people or groups at Boston College

To share your files or folders with people or groups (such as a department, course, or Campus Group) at Boston College:

  1. Locate the file or folder you want to share. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Check the box next to the file or folder you want to share, then click Share (see Figure 1).
    Figure 1
    Figure 1
  3. In the Choose Users Window either (see Figure 2):
    • Enter the username or email address of the users you want to share with, then click Next.
      -OR-
    • Click Advanced Search (see Figure 3). Then, select users from your contact list or by searching in the Find user or Group box (for greater search capabilities click the pull-down arrow), then press OK, then click Next.

     Figure 2
    Figure 2

     Figure 3
    Figure 3
  4. On the Permissions page, check the box for each type of access you want to grant the BC person or Campus Group for this file or folder, then click Next (see Figure 4). Learn more about the types of permissions you can grant
    Figure 4 
    Figure 4
  5. Click Finish. Learn more about how to email links to your shared files and folders.

Changing the way your files or folders are shared

To change the way your files or folders are shared:

  1. While you are signed in to MyFiles@bc, find the file you want to change sharing for. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Check the box next to the file or folder you want to change sharing preferences for, then click Manage (see Figure 5).
     Figure 5
    Figure 5
  3. Select Permissions (see Figure 6). Learn more about MyFiles permissions.
    Figure 6
    Figure 6
  4. Select your new preferences, then click Apply (see Figure 7).
    Figure 7
    Figure 7
  5. Click OK to verify the changes.

Removing sharing from people or groups

To remove sharing from people or groups:

  1. While you are signed in to MyFiles@bc, find the file you want to remove sharing from. Learn about navigating folders.
    Note: To prevent other people or groups from editing or saving changes to a file or folder just for a period of time, you can lock a file or folder. Learn more about locking files and folders.
  2. Check the box next to the file or folder you want to remove sharing from, then click Manage (see Figure 8).
     Figure 8
    Figure 8
  3. Select Permissions (see Figure 9). Learn more about MyFiles permissions.
    Figure 9
    Figure 9
  4. Check the box next to the people and/or groups you want to remove sharing privileges from, then click Remove Access (see Figure 10). 
    figure 10 
    Figure 10
  5. Click OK to verify you want to remove the users.