Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Information Technology Services

Moving Files and Folders

Important: To move files or folders that are shared with you, you must have delete permission on the file/folder you want to move and write permission on the folder to which you are moving. Learn more about sharing permissions.

  1. Locate the file or folder that you want to move. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Select the files or folders that you want to move, by checking the box next to the file's or folder's name, then click Move (see Figure 1).
    NOTE: You can move more than one file or folder at a time. However, you can only move to one destination at a time.
    Figure 1
    Figure 1.
  3. In the Destination box, enter the folder path to move your files or folders to, then click OK (see Figure 2).

    - OR -

    Click the pull-down arrow to browse through the folder structure to find a folder to select, then click OK (see Figure 2).
    Figure 2
    Figure 2.
  4. The selected files or folders are moved from their current folder to the folder you specified.
    NOTE: When you move a file or folder, the sharing permissions are also moved with that file or folder. Learn more about sharing permissions.