Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Information Technology Services

Delete and Restore Deleted Files or Folders

myfiles@bc

Learn how to:

 

Deleting files or folders

  1. Locate the file or folder that you want to delete. Learn about navigating folders.
  2. Check the box next to the file or folder you want to delete, then click the Delete icon (see Figure 1).
    Figure 1
    Figure 1.

    The file or folder you selected is moved to your Trash folder and a delete message similar to the following appears (see Figure 2).
    figure 1
    Figure 2.
  3. You can check multiple boxes to delete more than one file or folder at the same time.
  4. To permanently delete files or folders, you must empty your trash. Learn more about emptying your trash

 

Restoring deleted files or folders

  1. In your home folder, click the Trash folder.
  2. A list of files and folders that you deleted appear.
    IMPORTANT: When you empty your trash, those files and folders get permanently deleted.
  3. Select the file or folder you want to restore, by checking the box next to the file's or folder's name, then click Restore (see Figure 3). Entire folders will be restored with all files in that folder but single files can only be restored one at a time.
    Figure 3
    Figure 3.

    NOTE: You may need to set up sharing again for this restored file or folder. Learn how to set up sharing.