Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Information Technology Services

Manage Your Subscriptions

myfiles@bc

Use Subscriptions to be notified via email when your shared files or folders are viewed, changed, or receive comments in MyFiles@bc. When sharing files, Subscriptions help you monitor who accesses your files and when they do. On this page, learn how to:

 

Create a new Subscription

To subscribe to a new activity for shared files or folders:

  1. Check the box next to name of the file or folder that you want to subscribe to, then click Manage (see Figure 1).
    figure 1
    Figure 1
  2. Click Subscriptions (see Figure 2).
    Figure 2
    Figure 2
  3. Click New Subscription (see Figure 3).
     Figure 3
    Figure 3
  4. From the Subscribe options (see Figure 4), select when you want to be notified:
    • Change events -
      For Files: Notifies you when this file is uploaded and an existing file is overwritten. Notifies you when this file is moved, deleted, copied, or downloaded. 
      For Folders: Notifies you when any of the above file changes occur to any file or sub-folder within this folder. Notifies you when a file is initially uploaded to this folder and when a file within this folder is moved. Notifies you when a sub-folder is created within this folder. Notifies you when this folder is deleted.
    • Comment events -
      Notifies you when a comment is created on this file or folder.
    • Read events
      For Files:Notifies you when this file is viewed/opened.
      For Folders:Notifies you& when a file within this folder is viewed/opened.
    • When event occurs - Sends you a notification immediately when an event occurs.
    • Daily report - Sends you all notifications for all of your tracked activities once daily.
    Figure 4
    Figure 4
  5. Click OK.

View your existing Subscriptions

To view your existing subscriptions for shared files or folders:

  1. Check the box next to name of the file or folder that you want to view subscriptions to, then click Manage (see Figure 5).
    figure 5
    Figure 5
  2. Click Subscription (see Figure 6). 
    figure 6 
    Figure 6
  3. The Subscription page appears (see Figure 7), which lists all your current tracked activities.
    Figure 7
    Figure 7

 

Cancel a Subscription

To cancel a subscription for shared files or folders:

  1. Check the box next to name of the file or folder that you want cancel subscriptions to, then click Manage (see Figure 8).
    Figure 8
    Figure 8
  2. Click Subscription (see Figure 9). 
    Figure 9
    Figure 9
  3. Check the box next to the subscription you want to delete, then click Unsubscribe (see Figure 10).
    Figure 10
    Figure 10
    Note: Subscription notifications are automatically canceled when:
    • A file or folder is deleted.
    • Permissions of a file or folder are changed such that the person no longer has access to view or edit that file or folder.