Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Boisi Center for Religion and American Public Life

Past Events at the Boisi Center

Spring 2009 Events

Noah Snyder

Ways of Knowing: Field Science in the 21st Century
Noah Snyder, Boston College
Wednesday, February 4, 2009
12:00-1:15 PM • Boisi Center

James Bernauer

The Faiths of a Catholic University: Personal or Impersonal?
James Bernauer, S.J., Boston College
Wednesday, February 11, 2009
12:00-1:15 PM • Boisi Center

Elshtain

Realism, Ethics & US Foreign Policy
Jean Bethke Elshtain, University of Chicago
Fr. Bryan Hehir, Harvard University
Andrew J. Bacevich, Boston University
Wednesday, February 18, 2009
4:00-5:30 PM • McGuinn 121

 

demarco

Ways of Knowing and Catholic Intellectual Traditions: Women Living with HIV/AIDS in the US
Rosanna DeMarco, Boston College
Thursday, February 26, 2009
12:00-1:15 PM • Boisi Center

tiala

Intuition, Emotion and Visualization
Crystal Tiala, Boston College
Wednesday, March 11, 2009
12:00-1:15 PM • Boisi Center

Timothy Samuel Shah

Redeeming Freedom: Evangelicals and Democracy, Around the World and Across Time
Timothy Samuel Shah, Council on Foreign Relations
Wednesday, March 18, 2009
4:30-6:00 PM • Devlin 101

Building

 

Building: Community, Houses, Resumes?
• Dr. Robert Murphy (Economics)
• Dr. Jennie Purnell (Political Science)
• Dan Couch (A&S '09)
• Matt Raffol (CSOM '09)
Thursday, March 19, 2009
7:00-9:30 • McGuinn 121

 Paul Dadovits

Scientific Knowledge and Faith
Paul Davidovits, Boston College
Wednesday, March 25, 2009
12:00-1:15 PM • Boisi Center

Stephen Pope

Human Evolution and Christian Ethics
Stephen Pope, Boston College
Tuesday, March 31, 2009
5:00-6:30 pm • Cushing 001

Gettysburg

Gettysburg in Rehab
John Summers, Boston College
Wednesday, April 1, 2009
12:00-1:15 PM • Boisi Center

Iconography

Ways of Knowing through Iconography: The Temple of Solomon and the Dome of the Rock
Pamela Berger
Wednesday, April 8, 2009
12:00-1:15 PM • Boisi Center

 

Liberalism

Author Meets Critics: The Future of Liberalism
Alan Wolfe, Boston College
Mary Sarah Bilder, Boston College
Daniel J Mahoney, Assumption College
Wednesday, April 29, 2009
4:30-6:00 pm • McGuinn 121