Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Burns Library Visiting Scholar in Irish Studies

The Burns Library at Boston College welcomes a distinguished scholar, writer, or artist who has made significant contributions to Irish cultural and intellectual life, to serve as BC's Burns Visiting Scholar each year. The Burns Scholar has access to the library's extensive and significant Irish collection for the purpose of conducting his or her own research, teaches one Irish Studies course, and delivers two public lectures per semester. The distinguished roster of visitors who have served as Burns Scholar has enhanced the intellectual life of the University and proved a tremendous asset to BC's Irish Studies Program.


Professor Louis de Paor (2016 Fall Semester)
Louis de Paor is Director of the Centre for Irish Studies at NUI Galway. He is a scholar of the work of Máirtín Ó Cadhain and is currently working on the Irish-language element in the work of Flann O'Brien. He is also a distinguished Irish-language poet and anthologist. He will teach a course at Boston College titled: Irish Comic Tradition.

Professor Colmán Ó Clabaigh OSB (2016 Spring Semester)
Colmán Ó Clabaigh is a Benedictine monk of Glenstal Abbey, Co. Limerick and a medievalist specializing in the history of monasticism and religion in Late Medieval Ireland. His monograph, The Friars in Ireland, 1224-1500 (Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2012) was awarded the 2013 National Univeristy of Ireland Prize for Irish Historical Research.

Professor James H. Murphy (2015 Fall semester)
Professor Murphy, is a professor of English and a former director of Irish Studies at DePaul University, Chicago. He is a leading scholar of nineteenth-century Ireland and author or editor of fourteen books.

Professor Damian Bracken (2015 Spring semester)
Professor Bracken is a senior lecturer in the School of History at University College Cork.

Professor Terence Brown
(2014 Spring semester)
Professor Brown is a Fellow Emeritus of Trinity College Dublin, where he was elected to Fellowship in 1976, appointed Professor of Anglo-Irish Literature in 1993, and served as Dean of Arts and Humanities from 2005 to 2007.

Professor John Horgan (2014 Fall semester)
Associate, Adjunct and Emeritus Professor, Dublin City University.

Mary McAleese (2013 Fall semester)
President of Ireland from 1997 to 2011, Mary was Ireland's second female president and its first president from Northern Ireland. As president, she helped bring about an end to "The Troubles", which she had experienced during her youth in Northern Ireland. Mary graduated in Law from Queen's University of Belfast (1973) and was admitted to the Northern Ireland Bar in 1974. She has served as the first female Pro-Vice Chancellor of Queen's University of Belfast and as an experienced broadcaster and journalist for Radio Telefís Éireann. Mary and her husband, Martin McAleese, are the parents of three children. She is currently pursuing a doctorate in canon law at the Gregorian University of Rome.

Peter Fallon (2012-2013)
Founder of The Gallery Press, Ireland's preeminent literary publishing house. Author of The Speaking Stones (1978), Winter Work (1983), The News and Weather (1987), Eye to Eye (1992) and News of the World: Selected and New Poems (1998).

Dermot Keogh (2011-2012)
Professor of History and Emeritus Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration Studies, School of History, University College, Cork, Ireland.

Nicholas Allen (2011 Spring semester)
National University of Ireland, Galway

Francis Martin Carroll
(2010 Fall semester)
University of Manitoba

Thomas Bartlett (2009-2010)
University of Aberdeen

Diarmaid Ferriter (2008-2009)
University College, Dublin

Brendan Kennelly (2007-2008)
Trinity College, Dublin

Tom Garvin (2006-2007)
University College, Dublin

Maria Luddy (2005-2006)
University of Warwick

Gerry Dawe (Spring 2005)
Trinity College, Dublin

Mick Moloney (Fall 2004)
New York University

Peter Gray (Spring 2004)
University of Southhampton

Margaret Kelleher (2002-2003)
National University of Ireland, Maynooth

Breandán Ó Buchalla (2001-2002)
University College, Dublin

Dr. Patricia Donlon (2000-2001)
Former Director of the National Library of Ireland

Professor Paul Bew (1999-2000)
Queen's University Belfast

Nuala Ní Dhomhaill (1998-1999)
Poet, author

Dr. Bernard Meehan (Spring 1998)
Trinity College, Dublin

Professor Alvin Jackson (1996-1997)
Queen's University, Belfast

Dr. Kevin Whelan (1996-1997)
Director of the Keogh Center for Irish Studies, University of Notre Dame

Timothy O'Neill (Spring 1995)
Calligrapher, historian

Sean Ó Túama (Fall 1994)
National University of Ireland, Cork

Professor Maurice Harmon (1993-1994)
University College, Dublin

Professor Margaret Mac Curtain O. P. (1992-1993)
National University of Ireland, Dublin

Alf Mac Lochlainn (1991-1992)
Former Director of the National Library of Ireland