Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Graduate Admission

Irish Studies has developed wide ranging and very successful graduate programs with the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences.

Application Process
Application materials for graduate study at Boston College can be obtained through Graduate School of Arts & Sciences. (/schools/gsas/).

Graduate School of Arts & Science
Admission and Financial Aid Office
McGuinn Hall 221
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

617-552-3265
Email: gsasinfo@bc.edu
Web site: /schools/gsas/


Graduate Programs in English
Students may obtain an MA in Irish Literature and Culture and a Ph.D. in English with a concentration in Irish Literature.

Additional information about this course of study is available on the Graduate Programs in English web site.

English Department
Boston College
Carney Hall, 140 Commonwealth Ave
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

Office: (617) 552-3708
Email: english@bc.edu.

Director of the MA Program
Caroline Bicks
617-552-1959
bicks@bc.edu

Director of the PhD Program
Robert Stanton
617-552-2235
robert.stanton@bc.edu

 


Graduate Programs in History

The MA and Ph.D. degree in history are offered with a concentration in Modern Irish history. Additional information about this course of study is available on the History Department web site

Department of History
Boston College
Stokes Hall, South, floor 3
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

Office: (617) 552-2267
Email: history@bc.edu.

Director of Graduate Studies
Professor Prasannan Parthasarathi
617-552-1196
prasannan.parthasarathi@bc.edu

Graduate Programs Assistant
Rebecca Rea
617-552-3781
rebecca.rea@bc.edu

 


Irish Studies Alumni

Graduates of both our masters and doctoral programs typically pursue careers in public and higher education, teaching Irish Studies, English, history and art.

Alumni of the Irish Studies doctoral program hold faculty positions at the National University of Ireland, Dublin, the National University of Ireland, Maynooth, the University of South Florida, Augustana College, College of the Elms and other four-year institutions.