Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

The Institute for the Liberal Arts

Events

institute for the liberal arts


Spring 2018


 

Date & Time  
Location Event
Thu, Jan 18 11:30a.m.-2p.m. Creagh Library Postcolonial Studies Reading Group
Thu, Feb 15
5p.m.-7:30p.m.
Creagh Library
Postcolonial Studies Reading Group
Fri-Sat, Feb 16-Feb17
TBD Kant and the Possibility of Progress
Mon, Mar 12 5:00p.m. Devlin 101 Owens Lecture: Earthquake Aesthetics (Early Americas Series)
Tue, Mar 13 12:00p.m. TBD Owens Seminar
Tue-Thur, Mar 20-22 TBD Viet Thanh Nguyen Three-Day Residency
Fri-Sat Mar 23-24 TBD Islam in the Post-Obama Era
Thur, Mar 29 3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. Creagh Library Postcolonial Studies Reading Group
Fri-Sat, April 6-7 TBD Black Bostonians and the Media
Thur, April 26 5:00 p.m. Devlin 101 Owens Lecture: Spaces of Property in Colonial North America (Early Americas Seminar)
Fri, April 27 12:00 p.m. 10 Stone Ave Owens Seminar
     


More events will be added as they are confirmed.
Locations will be posted as they are determined.

fall 2017



Date & Time  
Location Event
Thu, Oct 5 -
Sat, Oct 7
Boston College & Boston University Annual Meeting for the Society for Ricoeur Studies
Wed, Oct 11
8:30 a.m.
Gasson 100
Land O’ Lakes at 50: The State of Catholic Higher Education
Mon, Oct 16
5:00 p.m.
Devlin 101 The Pueblo Revolt: A Great Slave Rebellion (Part of the Early Americas Seminar Series)
Tue, Oct 17
12:00 p.m.
Stokes S376 Seminar Discussion: Indians and Slavery (Part of the Early Americas Seminar Series)
Thu, Oct 19
6:00 p.m.
Gasson 100 CWBC Colloquium: Mae Jemison
Sat, Oct 21
10:00 a.m.
Irish Room, Burns Library The Atomic Bicycle in the Modern Era. A colloquium organized by the Omnium Consortium.
Mon, Oct 23
8:00 p.m.
100 Gasson Hall Voices of the Avant-Garde: The Composer as Revolutionary (With Acclaimed Pianist Moritz Ernst)
Tue, Oct 24
8:00 p.m.
100 Gasson Hall Silenced Keys: The Composer as Victim (With Acclaimed Pianist Moritz Ernst)
Thu, Oct 26
5:30 p.m.
415 McGuinn Hall Postcolonial Studies Reading Group
Sun, Oct 29
3:00 p.m.
100 Gasson Hall Form and Dialogue: The Composer as Architect and Poet (With Acclaimed Pianist Moritz Ernst)
Sat, Nov 4
7:15 p.m.

St. Ignatius Church

The Seraphim Singers (20th Anniversary Season)
Wed, Nov 8
6:00 p.m.
Higgins 225 The Alchemy of Conversion: From Ramón Llull to José de Acosta (Part of the Early Americas Seminar Series)
Thu, Nov 9
12:00 p.m.
10 Stone Ave,
Room 201
Seminar Discussion: Religion and Science (Part of the Early Americas Seminar Series)
Tue, Nov 14
6:00 p.m.
121 McGuinn Hall Powering Forward: Why Changing Political Winds Can’t Stop the Energy Revolution? With Governor Bill Ritter Jr.
Thu, Nov 30
5:30 p.m.
415 McGuinn Hall Postcolonial Studies Reading Group