Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

The Institute for the Liberal Arts

Events

institute for the liberal arts


fall 2016



Date & Time  
Location Event
Wed, Sep 14
7:00 p.m.
Lyons Hall,
Welch Dining Room
Anti-Blackness and Christian Ethics Roundtable Discussion
Thu, Sep 15
7:00 p.m.
Murray Function Room, Yawkey Center Park Street Series: A Path Appears: Reporting on Gender Inequities and Global Health
Thu, Sep 22
5:00 p.m.
Devlin Hall,
Room 101
Personal and Communal Steps of Faith Communities Toward Less Violence in Syria with Marc Gopin. Part of the "Faith Communities and Civil Society During and After Conflict" series.
Tue, Oct 4
5:30 p.m.
Higgins Hall,
Room 310
Slavery & the Making of American Capitalism
Thu, Oct 6
6:00 p.m.
Robsham Theater CWBC Colloquium welcomes
Donna Brazile and Mary Matalin, moderated by Paula Ebben
Fri, Oct 14 -
Sat, Oct 15
Gasson Hall 100 & Simboli Hall 100 Public Theology and the Common Good
Sat, Oct 15
9:30 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.
Stokes Hall South,
Room 195
Gamification: Immersed in Tomorrow – Gaming, VR, and Digital Pedagogy
Mon, Oct 17
1:00-9:30 p.m.
Corcoran Commons Love and Mourning in the Constitution of the Subject: Recent Psychoanalytic Perspectives
Thu, Oct 20
5:00 p.m.
Devlin Hall,
Room 101
On the Ruins of Communism: Faith Communities and Postwar Challenges in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, and Serbia with Alen Kristić. Part of the "Faith Communities and Civil Society During and After Conflict" series.
Wed, Oct 26
5:30-7:00 p.m.
Devlin Hall,
Room 101
Latin American Religiosity In and Outside Latin America
Wed, Oct 26
4:30 p.m.
Gasson 100 The Beatles Weren’t Really So Great! (...or were they?)
Thu, Nov 3
5:00 p.m.
Stokes Hall,
Room S-295
Believers and Spiritual Capital for Peace: Bridging the Secular-Religious Divide in Bosnia and Herzegovina with Zilka Spahić-Šiljak. Part of the "Faith Communities and Civil Society During and After Conflict" series.
Thu, Nov 3
7:00 p.m.
Murray Function Room, Yawkey Center Park Street Series: Disability Bioethics: Toward Theory and Practice
Thu, Nov 17
7:00 p.m.
Murray Function Room, Yawkey Center Park Street Series: Escaping Melodrama: What should we learn, but what do we learn, from the infamous research studies in Tuskegee and Guatemala?
Thu, Dec 1
5:00 p.m.
STM Library,
Room 319
Revolutions in Time: Seleucid Innovations in Temporal Mapping and the Emergence of Apocalyptic Chronologies in Judea public dialogue
Thu, Dec 1
7:00 p.m.
Devlin Hall,
Room 101
Park Street Series: Preventing the Next Global Pandemic: Lessons from Ebola and Zika
Fri, Dec 2
10:30 a.m.
STM Library,
Room 319
Evidence for Concurrent Innovations in Temporality in Seleucid and Judean Sources scholarly colloquium
More events will be added as they are confirmed.