Archbishop Romero Scholarship Ceremony

The following has been taken from the Romero Scholarship Ceremony Website:


Nora Frias 2006 Recipient

Nora Frias, past historian and elected
vice president received award in 2006.

Oscar A. Romero is one of the greatest symbols of Christian love and solidarity. As Archbishop of El Salvador, Father Romero was a source of strength and hope for the poor and the oppressed of his country. He worked with and for them, taking their struggles as his own. Father Romero wrote and spoke passionately about the need for Christians to work for justice, and he frequently faced threats and danger from those opposed to his ideas.

On March 24, 1980, while celebrating the Eucharist, Archbishop Romero was shot and killed at the altar by a death squad assassin. He paid the highest price for the commitment about which he spoke so often and so eloquently. Because of his courageous stand for justice, he became a martyr not only for poor Salvadorans but for all people struggling to overcome oppression and poverty. Today, his sermons are read as powerful reminders of Christians' obligation to fight for a just society. The example of Romero's courageous life and death continue to inspire those who struggle for human dignity and justice.

Scholarship Information

Requirements for Candidates
To apply for the Oscar A. Romero Scholarship, you must be a Boston College junior and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States. You must have excelled in academics and have a demonstrated financial need. In addition, you must possess an outstanding record of community service at Boston College or in other off-campus communities.

The 2006 application deadline will be posted here when it is scheduled..

Selections Process
Selection of the Archbishop Oscar A. Romero Scholarship winner will be made by the Scholarship Subcommittee after careful consideration of each application. This subcommittee is comprised of Jesuits, staff, faculty, alumni, and students of Boston College.

For an application please visit the romero website, and for further questions, please direct them to: or 617-552-1996.

Past OLAA Member Receipients


Omar Gonzalez, ex-member
and former liason. Received 2005 award.


Arivee Vargas, ex-president.
Received 2004 award.


Gabriel Verdaguer, ex- member.
Received 2003 award.


Roystone Martinez, ex-president.
Received 2002 award.

Get Firefox! Web Design by Pardees Safizadeh | ©OLAA2008-2009 | Information was last updated: October 30,2008