Romero Committee Logo
bullet  Scholarship
bullet  Events
bullet  Recipients
bullet  Committee
bullet  Directions
bullet  Inquiries
bullet  Application
bullet  For Alumni
bullet  Contact Us
bullet  Books
bullet  Film
bullet  Romero Sites



The John A. Dinneen, S.J.
Hispanic Alumni Community Service Award

Ms. Ilyitch Nahiely Tábora was born in the United States to Honduran and Mexican parents. She is an alumna of Boston Latin School (class of 1999) and was an intern in the Education Department of Mayor Thomas M. Menino's Office through the John William Ward Fellowship program before entering college. Ms. Tábora studied Sociology and minored in Latin American Studies at Boston College... More »

aNominate a Boston College Alumni for the 2012 John A. Dineen, S.J. Hispanic Alumni Community Service Award »

About the Award...

The late Reverend John A. Dinneen, S.J. was a charter member of the Archbishop Oscar Romero Scholarship Committee of Boston College and was responsible for the acquisition of the initial money from the Society of Jesus to inaugurate the scholarship. Father Dinneen was a mentor, an active benefactor, a committed worker and a valuable friend to the Archbishop Oscar Romero Scholarship Committee and to the AHANA community.

In honor of the late Father Dinneen, the Committee created the John A. Dinneen, S.J. Hispanic Alumni Community Service Award.

This prestigious award recognizes

  1. an alumna/us of Latin American descent,
  2. from a Boston College undergraduate or graduate program,
  3. whose graduation/commencement date is from at least five years ago, and
  4. whose work and service (both at Boston College and beyond) best reflect Archbishop Romero's ideals and Father Dinneen's commitment, leadership and service to the Latino community.

Past Recipients:
Maria Luisa Wilson-Portuondo
Roystone Martinez
Dr. Olga Lattarulo
Dr. Patricia Arredondo
Christopher Ortega
Alex Sanchez
Andres Tejada
Jose Andrade
Christian Leon
Gibran Rivera
Luisa (Julie) Muniz
Magnolia Contreras


Back to top


Romero Scholarship Alumni Committee Chairs 2010-2011

Gabriel Verdaguer, Co-Chair
Christopher Ortega, Co-Chair

Romero Scholarship Alumni Committee Members 2010-2011

Dom DeLeo
Edilma Hosein
Christopher Ortega
Eva Maynard
Raymond Rivera
Inez Stewart
Diego Sanson
Alberto Vasallo
Anita Ulloa
Vicky Barges
Stalin Colinet
Juan Concepcion
Yasmin Nunez

Next Meeting: