President Honors Retirees, 25-year Employees May 25

President Honors Retirees, 25-year Employees May 25

Administrators, faculty and staff who have retired or marked 25 years of service to the University during the past year will be honored at a dinner hosted by University President William P. Leahy, SJ, on Thursday, May 25 in the Heights Room of the Lower Campus Dining Hall.

University Chaplain Richard T. Cleary, SJ, Graduate School of Social Work Dean June G. Hopps and GSSW Associate Dean Albert Hanwell are this year's retiring administrators.

Faculty retirees are: Prof. William A. Gamson (Sociology); Assoc. Prof. Rosemary M. Krawczyk (SON); Assoc. Prof. Emeritus Joseph A. Orlando (Biology); Prof. Yuh Kang Pan (Chemistry); Assoc. Prof. Eileen J. Plunkett (SON); and Assoc. Prof. Betty Rahv (Romance Languages).

Other retirees are: President's Office Administrator Catherine F. Carey; Buildings and Grounds Administrator Joan A. Coffey; Marguerite Connolly, secretary for the Geology and Geophysics Department; GSSW Administrative Coordinator Josephine L. Connors; Development Office Clerk and Receptionist Mary D. Donohue; Ralph Gutierrez, appliance repair mechanic in the B&G Electrical Shop; Janet Kelly, administrative secretary for Capital Giving in the Development Office; Grounds Maintenance Supervisor Robert Le Blanc; Development Office Assistant Director of Proposals Donella A. Lewis; Development Office Associate Director of Annual Gifts Marilyn McElaney; and Burns Library Archives Assistant Susan E. Rainville.

Adj. Assoc. Prof. Claire Lowery (Theology), director of the Institute for Religious Education and Pastoral Ministry, and University Chaplaincy Musician-in-Residence Laetitia Blain are 25-year employees who are retiring this year.

Administrators and faculty members who will be recognized for 25 years of service are: Assoc. Prof. George Aragon (Finance); Assoc. Prof. Paul Breines (History); Prof. Patrick Byrne (Philosophy); University Secretary Joseph P. Duffy, SJ; Bureau of Conferences Director David Early; Prof. Harvey D. Egan, SJ (Theology); Assoc. Prof. Paul S. Gray (Sociology); Dining Services Associate Director of Business Systems John Grogan; Prof. Sharlene Hesse-Biber (Sociology); Carroll School of Management Associate Dean Richard Keeley; Dining Services Business Manager Susan L. Keleher; Prof. Marc Landy (Political Science); Assoc. Prof. Roberta T. Manning (History); Health Services Physician Arnold F. Mazur; Prof. Michael Numan (Psychology); Adj. Prof. Elaine Pinderhughes (GSSW); Prof. Anthony Saldarini (Theology); Prof. Richard Schrader (English); Prof. John Steczynski (Fine Arts); Prof. Miriam G. Wardle (SON); and Human Resources Service Center Director Richard M. Young.

Other 25-year employees are: Robert Curley, lead electrician in the Electrical Shop; B&G Custodian Sumner H. Goldberg; University Housing Fiscal Coordinator Ellen K. Hominsky; Boston College Police Officer John L. Moir; Dining Services General Manager Karen A. Peirce; Enterprise Computing Programmer Analyst Cornelius Provost; Sergio Raffi, lead carpenter in the B&G Carpentry Shop; O'Neill Library Head of Acquisitions Elvira L. Reynolds; Newton Campus Dining Services General Manager Rodolfo Rodriguez; HVAC Mechanic George Sagias; Communication Department Administrative Secretary Mary Saunders; and Carroll Graduate School of Management Student Services and Records Manager Priscilla A. Sliney.

Fr. Leahy will also present the Community Service Award to Human Resources Service Center Assistant Director of Special Projects Ruth Chobit.


Return to May 11 menu

Return to Chronicle home page