Postings

Office holidays announced

Vice President for Human Resources Leo V. Sullivan has announced the approved office holidays for 1999-2000, as well as a list of proposed holidays for 2000-01.

Holidays for 1999-2000 are: Monday, July 5 (Independence Day celebrated); Monday, Sept. 6 (Labor Day); Monday, Oct. 11 (Columbus Day); Thursday, Nov. 25 and Friday, Nov. 26 (Thanksgiving); Thursday, Dec. 23 through Monday, Dec. 27 and Friday, Dec. 31 through Tuesday, Jan. 4 (Christmas and New Year's breaks). In addition, employees will be given one personal day which can be used with supervisory approval only between Tuesday, Dec. 21 and Friday, Jan. 14.

For the spring semester, holidays are: Monday, Jan. 17 (Martin Luther King Jr. Day); Monday, April 17 (Patriot's Day); Friday, April 21 (Good Friday); and Monday, May 29 (Memorial Day).

Sullivan also released a not-yet-officially-approved list of proposed office holidays for the 2000-01 year for planning purposes. They are: Monday, July 3 and Tuesday, July 4; Monday, Sept. 4; Monday, Oct. 9; Thursday, Nov. 23 and Friday, Nov. 24; Friday, Dec. 22 through Tuesday, Dec. 26 and Friday, Dec. 29 through Tuesday, Jan. 2; Monday, Jan. 15; Friday, April 13; Monday, April 16; and Monday, May 28.

Museum to feature faculty artists in summer exhibit

The McMullen Museum of Art will present a selection of works by University faculty members for its summer exhibition, "Artists at Boston College: Celebrating 25 Years of Excellence In the Visual Arts."

The exhibition will open Wednesday, June 16, with a special reception and preview from 6:30-8:30 p.m., and run until Sept. 12. It will feature works by Mary Armstrong, Elizabeth Awalt, Karl Baden, Pamela Berger, Aileen Callahan, Michael Civille, Alston Conley, Mark Cooper, Tina Feingold, Khalid Kodi, Charles Meyer, John Michalczyk, Michael Mulhern, Sharon Sabin, Mary Sherman, John Steczynski, Andrew Tavarelli and Debra Weisberg.

During the months of June, July and August, the museum will be open Monday through Friday from 11 a.m.-3 p.m. For more information, call the museum Arts Line at ext.2-8100 or visit the World Wide Web site at http://www.bc.edu/artmuseum.

BCPD to host forum on missing children

The Boston College Police Department will host a forum on June 16 and 17 for state and local law enforcement agencies concerning children who disappear under mysterious circumstances.

Experts from the Federal Bureau of Investigation's Critical Incident Response Group will make presentations and review the bureau's Child Abduction Response Plan. Several hundred representatives from federal and state attorneys' offices, as well as area police departments, are expected to attend.

Chronicle announces publication dates

Today's issue of Boston College Chronicle is the final one for the 1998-99 academic year. Chronicle will publish a summer edition on Thursday, July 22.

The publication schedule for the 1999-2000 academic year will be as follows (all dates are Thursdays, except where otherwise noted): Sept. 3 (Friday), Sept. 16, Sept. 30, Oct. 14, Oct. 28, Nov. 11, Nov. 24 (Wednesday) and Dec. 9. After the holiday break, Chronicle will publish on Jan. 20, Feb. 3, Feb. 17, March 2, March 16, March 30, April 13, April 27, May 11 and May 26 (Friday).


Return to May 28 menu

Return to Chronicle home page