Alumni Association to Present Awards

Boston College graduates who have made exceptional achievements in the fields of arts and humanities, commerce, education, law, medicine, public service, religion and science will be honored tomorrow at 5 p.m. in Robsham Theater, when the Alumni Association holds its annual Awards of Excellence ceremony and reception. In addition, two special awards will be presented at the event. Boston physician Thomas S. Durant '51, will receive the William V. McKenney Award for lifetime achievement. Durant has served as a polling officer for the United Nations in Cambodia, South Africa and Bosnia and provided emergency medical aid to refugees, including those fleeing Kosovo.

The Young Alumni Award will be given to Jayan Landry Conlin GA&S '89. A registered nurse and clinical nurse specialist, Conlin is the co-founder and executive director of the Trauma Intervention Program of the Merrimack Valley.

Harold W. Attridge PhD '67, the Lillian Klaus Professor of the New Testament at Yale University, will receive the Arts and Humanities Award of Excellence.

Gillette Co. President and Chief Operating Officer Michael C. Hawley '60 is this year's recipient of the Commerce award.

The Education award will be presented to Paul Sally Jr., PhD '54, GA&S '56, a professor of mathematics at the University of Chicago who has developed educational programs for the elementary and secondary levels.

Robert T.M. Phillips, MD, PhD '72, an expert in forensic psychiatry and adjunct professor at the Yale University School of Medicine, will receive the Health Professionals Award of Excellence.

Pierre Richard-Prosper '85, who worked with the United Nations tribunal investigating massacres in Rwanda, and won the landmark conviction of Hutu mayor Jean-Paul Akayesu, has been selected for the Law award.

The Public Service award will be presented to Charles Battaglia '59, staff director of the Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs.

Frances Belmonte PhD '80, the first woman in the US to be resident theologian to a Catholic bishop, will be presented with the Religion Award of Excellence.

Two Science awards are being given this year. One will honor US Department of Energy Undersec-retary Ernest Moniz PhD '66; the other recipient is geophysicist John Murphy '64, MA '65, whose expertise in seismic signals helped the US develop its capability to detect nuclear explosions around the world.

-Sean Smith

Return to May 13 menu

Return to Chronicle home page