Alumni Honored for Volunteer Efforts Six Recognized at Annual Tribute Dinner

Alumni Honored for Volunteer Efforts

Six alumni who have made significant volunteer contributions to the University's development effort were honored at the Distinguished Volunteers Tribute Dinner at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel in Boston on March 26. John J. Curtin Jr. '54, JD '57, LLD '91; James F. Kavanaugh Jr. JD '77; Edward P. Gilmore '58; Kathleen E. Hegenbart NC '67; Edmund F. Murphy III '84; and Ann Harris Connor '71 each received specially inscribed plaques from University President William P. Leahy, SJ.

Curtin received the Francis J. Nicholson, SJ, Award, given each year to a volunteer whose dedication to the advancement of legal education at Boston College Law School reflects the loyalty and constancy of Fr. Nicholson, a professor emeritus who taught at BC for more than four decades.

A past president of the Alumni Association, Curtin served as chairman of the Law Library Building Campaign Committee and is chairman of the Law School's Board of Advisors and a member of the National Campaign Committee.

Kavanaugh, chairman of the Law School Leadership Committee and vice president of the Law School Alumni Council, was presented with the James B. Malley, SJ, Award for having "demonstrated through his commitment to the Law School a spirit of caring and service exemplified by Fr. Malley, a Jesuit, lawyer, advisor and friend to the entire community."

The John J. Griffin Sr. Class Agent awards were presented to Gilmore and Hegenbart for "meritorious volunteer service on behalf of Boston College which contributed to the academic mission of higher education in the Jesuit tradition at the grass roots level of the class organization."

Gilmore has served as a National Telethon volunteer, a member of the Fides Executive Committee and Fides Gift Chair for the Class of 1958 reunion. Hegenbart is President's Circle Chair of the Newton College Professorship in Western Culture Committee, and a member of the National Campaign Committee and the President's Circle Executive Committee.

Murphy was named winner of the Rising Star Award as a "graduate whose early volunteer career has established a reputation for exceptional leadership on behalf of the advancement of Boston College and whose dedication and service have provided a positive role model for young graduates." He is a member of the President's Circle Executive Committee, the Wall Street Council, the Pops on the Heights Committee and a former member of the Fides Executive Committee.

Connor was presented with the Philip J. Callan Sr. Memorial Award as "the outstanding volunteer fund raiser whose dedication, loyalty and perseverance in the cause of Boston College advancement are in the tradition of Phil Callan, founder of the Annual Fund Telethon."

Connor is co-chair of the President's Circle Committee, New York Region, and is a member of the President's Circle Executive Committee. She was chairwoman for her class's 25th reunion and has served on the National Development Board and the National Campaign Committee.

-Reid Oslin

Return to April 15 menu

Return to Chronicle home page