Top Teaching Fellows

The annual Donald J. White Teaching Excellence Awards were presented at an April 27 ceremony to 48 graduate teaching fellows and teaching assistants who distinguished themselves in their classroom instruction this academic year.

Winners of the awards - named after former Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Dean Donald White - receive a cash award and a letter of congratulations from Academic Vice President and Dean of Faculties William B. Neenan, SJ, who appeared at the ceremony with University President William P. Leahy, SJ, and Associate Vice President for Research and GA&S Dean Michael Smyer, and other deans and administrators.

Those presented with awards were: Jeffrey Ecsedy, Mark Manfredi, Rebecca Sanford, Jennifer Swart and Mariana Todorova (Biology Department); Robert Harris, Thomas Horstmann, Alfred Navarette, Heather St. Martin and Gabriel Weatherhead (Chemistry); Kevin Cahill and Niloufer Sohrabji (Economics); Margaret Hervey, Claire Schomp, Elizabeth Vondrak and Aime Waha (English).

Also, Rebecca Gird and Jennifer Riela (Geology and Geophysics); Bernard Carpenter and William Leonard (History); Julie Elmore, Jennifer Goodyear and Jennifer Tauro (Mathematics); Antonia Galdos, Deborah Hutchins, Julia Legas, Linda Riviere and Shannon Vallor (Philosophy); Penka Petkova and Shaju Puthussery (Physics); Timothy Lynch (Political Science); Julie Woodzicka (Psychology); Christopher Alberg, Nathalie Drouglazet, Cristina Guasco, Shelly Hubman, Sara Lehman, Julie Roy and Jennifer Sopko (Romance Languages); Rhonda Danielle Egan (Sociology); and Beverly Mitchell (Theology).

Winners in the School of Education were Binta Colley, Kathleen Haley, Patricia Mason, Susan Tsao-Esty and Barbara Weaver.

Other recipients were Mary Seagraves from the School of Nursing and John Austin from the Carroll Graduate School of Management.

-Sean Smith

Return to May 7 menu

Return to Chronicle home page