Students Recognized For Leadership

Boston College honored some of its leading undergraduates Monday night at the annual Dean for Student Development Leadership Awards banquet.

University President William P. Leahy, SJ, and Vice President for Student Affairs Kevin P. Duffy were among the guest speakers at the event, which was held in the Lower Campus Dining Hall Heights Room. Administrators and staff from the Office of the Dean for Student Development served as award presenters.

Freshmen Kerri Hilleren and Mark Pedulla received the Nicholas Woods Leadership Award for demonstrating initiative, motivation and potential for continued student leadership.

Lindsay Hayes '98, and Scott Andrew Miniter '99, were presented with the Brian D.A. Hall Leadership Award for their active roles in co-curricular activities and accomplishments as student leaders.

The St. Ignatius Award for Student Involvement was given to Marguerite Colton '99, and Luca Venza '98, for their demonstrated commitment to Christian values through effective leadership in student life.

Seniors Valerie Daniel and Taylor Heewon Khym received the St. Ignatius Award for Personal Development, which honors students whose values and ideals have undergone a transformation and deepening through participation in student programs.

For overcoming a physical challenge to excel in academic and co-curricular activities, seniors D'Arcy Lynch and Peter Nictakis earned the Jeff Keith Award.

The outgoing Undergraduate Government of Boston College president and executive vice president, seniors Dean Bell and Kristin Pugh, respectively, were cited for outstanding contributions to Boston College with the Leadership Awards Committee Award of Special Recognition.

Awards recognizing the development and effective use of certain skills were presented to: seniors Tina Hall and Matthew Havens, for creativity; Laura Walsh '98, and Mary Ellen Newman '99, for leadership; and Cara McLaughlin '98, for programming.

Two student groups were selected for the Student Development Award for Leadership, Programs and Service to the University: the Student Organization Funding Committee and the Peer Education Network.

In addition, two Boston College employees were recognized for their support, guidance and commitment to Boston College students as Crew Coach Edward Benford and Bureau of Conferences Senior Functions Coordinator James Costa received the Rev. John R. Trzaska, SJ, Award.

-Sean Smith

Return to May 7 menu

Return to Chronicle home page