Retirees, 25-Year Employees to be Feted at Dinner

By Mark Sullivan
Staff Writer

Retiring employees and those who have completed 25 years of service to the University will be honored by Boston College President William P. Leahy, SJ, at a recognition dinner on May 21 in the Heights Room of the Lower Campus Dining Hall.

University Chancellor J. Donald Monan, SJ, is among the 25-year veterans who will be recognized at the reception and dinner, which begins at 6 p.m.

Retiring faculty to be honored are: Prof. Arthur Berney (Law); Prof. Joseph Chen (Physics); Assoc. Prof. Eugene Bushala (Classical Studies); Assoc. Prof. Nancy Gaspard (SON); Assoc. Prof. Joan Jones (SOE); Assoc. Prof. Joseph Longo (English); Assoc. Prof. John McCarthy (English); Assoc. Prof. Edward Smith (SOE); Assoc. Prof. Kenneth Wegner (SOE); Asst. Prof. Patrick Ryan, SJ (Theology); and Adj. Lect. Eugene Bronstein (CSOM).

Administrators and staff members who will have retired by May 31 include: Center for Corporate Community Relations Director Edmund Burke; Management Information Systems Director J. Joseph Harrington; Voice Services Manager Patricia Tobin; Assistant to the Academic Vice President Katharine Hastings; University Health Services Physician John McManama, MD; O'Neill Reference Librarian and Bibliographer Anne Lippman; O'Neill Library Assistant Joseph Fagan; James McCaffrey, SJ, assistant to the director of Weston Observatory; Career Center Resource Specialist Mary James; Carroll School of Management Secretary Norine Smith; Boston College Police Department Administrative Secretary Sylvia Kandler; and Claire Vendice, scheduling assistant in the University Registrar's Office.

Other retirees are: Buildings and Grounds Custodians Joseph Blaney and Maurice Flynn, and Lead Garage Mechanic Donald McInnis; Thomas Moynihan, a stockroom attendant in the Chemistry Department; Laurence Crichton, senior instrument technician in the Electronics and Machine Workshop; and, in Dining Services, McElroy Dishroom Supervisor Miguel Garcia, Lower Campus Dining Hall Lead Food Service Worker Alexandra Kuvin and cashiers Deirdre Conneely and Meredith Wood.

Faculty marking 25 years of service are Prof. Peter Gray (Psychology), Prof. Jeanne Guillemin (Sociology), Prof. Marvin Kraus (Economics), Prof. Robin Lydenberg (English), Prof. Pheme Perkins (Theology), Prof. Jolane Solomon (Biology), Assoc. Prof. Robert Kern (English), Assoc. Prof. Alan Lawson (History) and Assoc. Prof. Francis Murphy (History).

Along with Fr. Monan, administrators and staff marking 25 years at the University include: Associate Vice President for Planning and Construction Alfred Pennino; Human Resources Employee Development Director Bernard O'Kane; CSOM Assistant Dean for Academic Counseling James Halpin; Associate University Librarian Jeremy Slinn; Burns Senior Reference Librarian and Bibliographer John Atteberry; O'Neill Senior Reference Librarian and Bibliographer Marilyn Grant; University Counseling Service Staff Psychologist Christine Merkle; and Institute for Scientific Research Research Analyst Carol Foley and Research Physicist Edward Richards.

Also, Payroll Office Supervisor Diane Cronin and Manager Rachel Garvin; Margaret Flibotte, a production services analyst with Management Information Systems; Undergraduate Admission Support Services Supervisor Louise Hannah; BC Police Sgt. John Grace; Bernice Bluestein, a business manager with the Bookstore; History Department Administrative Secretary Lois Dunn Bilsky; Fine Arts Department Administrative Secretary Mary Carey; Rose DeMaio, secretary to the University Historian; Thomas Groden, head coach of the men's and women's swimming and diving teams; and B&G Plumber Eric Markland and Custodian Serge Torchon.

Return to May 8 menu

Return to Chronicle home page