21 Faculty Members Promoted

University President William P. Leahy, SJ, has announced promotions for 21 members of the Boston College faculty.

The promotions took effect on March 1.

Seven faculty members have been promoted to full professor: James Gips (CSOM), M. Brinton Lykes (SOE), Richard P. Nielsen (CSOM), Robert Ross (Political Science), David Roy (Geology and Geophysics), M. Hossein Safizadeh (CSOM) and Diane Vaughan (Sociology).

Promoted to associate professor with tenure are: Lisa Cuklanz (Communication), Dean Hashimoto (Law), Marilynn Johnson (History), Margaret Kearney (SON), Elizabeth Kowaleski-Wallace (English), Joseph O'Keefe, SJ (SOE), Willemien Otten (Theology), Gerald Smith (CSOM), Kavitha Srinivas (Psychology) and Gregory Trompeter (CSOM).

Also, four faculty members were granted tenure: Assoc. Prof. Deborah Levenson-Estrada (History), Assoc. Prof. Kathleen McInnis-Dittrich (GSSW), Assoc. Prof. Cynthia Simmons (Slavic and Eastern Languages), and Prof. Kevin Kersten, SJ (Communication).

Fr. Leahy will host a reception for newly promoted faculty at Botolph House on Thursday, April 3.

-Michael Seele

Return to March 13 menu

Return to Chronicle home page