Committee Seeks Honorary Degree Nominations for '97

The University Committee on Awards and Honorary Degrees will assemble this month to begin identifying nominees for honorary degrees at the 1997 Commencement Exercises.

The Boston College community is invited to be a part of the process, according to University Secretary Joseph P. Duffy, SJ, chairman of the committee. Nominees should be selected from a variety of fields, such as the arts, scholarship, public service, business, religion and other areas, he said. Recommended individuals typically possess some quality that makes it particularly appropriate that they be honored by Boston College, he explained, and they should have a demonstrated record of accomplishment consonant with the ideals the University entertains for itself and the lives of its graduates.

Members of the University committee are: Prof. Peter Donovan (Law), Prof. David McFadden (Chemistry), Prof. John Michalczyk (Fine Arts), Prof. Pheme Perkins (Theology), Prof. Jeffrey Ringuest (CSOM), Assoc. Prof. Karen Kayser (GSSW), Assoc. Prof. Rosemary Krawczyk (SON), Assoc. Prof. Alec Peck (SOE), Assoc. Prof. Susan Shell (Political Science), Director of International Programs Marian St. Onge, Director of Public Affairs Douglas Whiting, O'Neill Reference Librarian and Bibliographer Brendan Rapple, and UGBC representatives Mea Quinn '97 and Dustin Rawlin '96.

Nominations should be accompanied by a description of the individual's qualifications and, where possible, other supporting documentation. The committee will forward a list of candidates to University President J. Donald Monan, SJ, who, together with the Board of Trustees, will choose the honorary degree recipients.

Nominations may be forwarded to any of the committee members or Fr. Duffy at Hopkins House through Wednesday, Nov. 8.

Return to Oct. 5 menu

Return to Chronicle Home Page