Staff Senate Elects Leaders, Sets Goals

The Staff Advisory Senate has laid out a set of goals for the coming year aimed at better serving clerical and office staff employees at Boston College.

In elections earlier this semester, staff members elected Kathleen Tucker and Marguerite Connolly co-chairs of the SAS for the 1995-96 year. In addition, nine staff members were elected SAS officers and committee members.

Tucker, administrative secretary in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, said she hopes to help raise the SAS' visibility during the coming year.

"We've been looked on as a social and travel club," she said. "While we will continue to do those things, I have some different ideas as to where we should go."

Tucker said she hopes to establish a staff newsletter, create an employee-of-the-month award and find meeting space on campus where staff can gather. Another priority will be raising awareness of the Staff Scholarship, which is nearly at the $25,000 mark needed for establishing an endowed scholarship for a financially needy student.

She noted that every 15-25 staff employees are represented by an elected SAS member. In addition to Tucker and Connolly, the Geology secretary, other officers and committee members are: Sociology secretary Maureen Eldredge and School of Nursing administrative secretary Catherine Toran (benefits); Communications administrative secretary Mary Saunders and SON secretary Elaine Boyle (travel/social co-secretaries); Athletic Association fiscal coordinator Stephanie Campbell (professional development); technology equipment specialist Maria Koufos and off-campus housing coordinator Marianne Falzone (travel/social); and faculty personnel assistant Carol Hunt-Clerici and Burns Library administrative secretary Dorothy McLaughlin (election).


Return to Nov. 30 menu

Return to Chronicle Home Page