May 11, 2006 • Volume 14 Number 17

Graduate Student Association Holds Annual Awards Banquet

On April 26, the Graduate Student Association hosted its annual awards banquet in Walsh Hall, honoring some of the University's outstanding master's and doctoral degree candidates.

BC's graduate schools each presented awards for academic achievement and contribution to the community, as well as a "school award."

Carroll School of Management: Christopher Alexander, Academic Achievement; Kari Olsen, Contribution to Community; Rachel Dalton, School Award.

Connell School of Nursing: Moriah Rogers and Amy Hourihan, Academic Achievement; Kate Pesce, Contribution to Community; Heather Vallent, School Award.

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences: M. Kevin Brown, Academic Achievement; Thaddeus Ostrowski, Contribution to Community; Kristen Lindquist, School Award.

Graduate School of Social Work: Jessie Buerlein, Academic Achievement; Justin Moeling, Contribution to Community; Erin Donohue, School Award.

Lynch School of Education: Angela DeSilva, Academic Achievement; Andrea J. Stairs, Contribution to Community; Carla Torrielli, School Award.

Law School: William Dunn, Academic Achievement; Emily Armstrong and Elisabeth Ryan, Contribution to Community; Martin Lew-Retana, School Award.

Woods College of Advancing Studies: Elissa Danella, Academic Achievement; Kevin Morrissey, Contribution to Community; Steven Fiske, School Award.

In addition, seven University Awards were presented at the event, highlighting the depth and breadth of graduate student involvement at Boston College. The winners were selected by a multi-disciplinary committee of faculty, administrators and graduate students.

Joyce Dalrymple, Law School: Ever to Excel Award, given to the student who has demonstrated rigorous intellectual development as well as ethical and personal formation, in preparation them for service and leadership in a global society.

David Brennan, Graduate School of Social Work: Research Excellence Award, honoring the student who has produced nationally and internationally significant research that advances insight and understanding, thereby both enriching culture and addressing important societal needs.

Tracy Tiemeier, Theology: Mentoring Excellence Award, presented to the student who has committed his or herself to advancing intellectual dialogue and inquiry through mentorship of other Boston College students.

Mary Cowell, Lynch School of Education: Men and Women for Others Award, given to the student who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to the local or global community.

Patty Burke, Carroll School of Management: John Courtney Murray, SJ, Award for Student Life, honoring the student who has made a substantial contribution to the betterment of student life and has shown great care for others.

Janelle Woods, Lynch School of Education: Sister Thea Bowman Award, presented to the student who has provided exceptional leadership and/or service to the graduate AHANA community.

Eliza Bliss-Moreau, Psychology: Set the World Aflame Award, recognizing a student who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and leadership to the Boston College community.

top of page