March 2, 2006 • Volume 14 Number 12

Nota Bene

Anthony Nunziata '06 won the Region 1 Directing Fellowship Award at the 38th Annual Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) held Jan. 31-Feb. 5 in Fitchburg. Nunziata was nominated for a KCACTF fellowship for his direction of Harold Pinter's "The Collection" last fall at Robsham Theater's Bonn Studio. He was one of five student directors from Region 1, which comprises the New England States, given the opportunity to direct 10-minute plays at the Region 1 Festival. Each candidate went through an application process, interview, and an evaluation of their directing during a rehearsal at the festival. Nunziata will join the winners of the seven other regions in the United States at the Kennedy Center's national theater competition during April 17-23 in Washington, DC.

Asst. Prof. Torsten Fiebig (Chemistry) and his former collaborator in Germany, Achim Wagenknecht, have been selected to share the 2006 Grammaticakis-Neumann Award of the Swiss Chemical Society. This award is presented annually to a research scientist from academia or industry who before the age of 40 has made outstanding experimental or theoretical contributions to the field of photochemistry or photophysics. Fiebig will be formally honored at the Swiss Chemical Society fall meeting this October.

top of page