Jan. 20, 2004 • Volume 13 Number 9

AVP Search Begins

University President William P. Leahy, SJ, has appointed a search committee to recommend candidates to succeed Academic Vice President and Dean of Faculties John J. Neuhauser, who will step down from his post in 2005.

The search committee will be chaired by William B. Neenan, SJ, vice president and special assistant to the president, and will include faculty, administrators and students. An executive search firm will assist in the process of identifying potential candidates for the University's top academic position.

Search committee members are: Vice President for Mission and Ministry Joseph A. Appleyard, SJ, Vice President for Student Affairs Cheryl L. Presley, Carroll School of Management Dean Andrew Boynton, Associate Dean of Nursing Loretta Higgins, Prof. James Bernauer, SJ (Philosophy), Monan Professor Lisa Cahill, Prof. Thomas Chiles (Biology), Vanderslice Professor T. Ross Kelly, Drucker Professor Alicia Munnell, Assoc. Prof. David Quigley (History), Prof. James R. Repetti (Law), Moakley Professor Kay L. Schlozman, Special Assistant to the President Robert Newton and Kearns Professor Mary Walsh. A graduate and undergraduate student will be added to the committee as well.

Fr. Leahy noted that "finding the right person to succeed Jack Neuhauser is a critical task, given the importance of the AVP in shaping the academic and religious mission of Boston College. That is especially true now as we move into the implementation phase of our strategic planning process and focus even more on building a better and stronger Boston College. I am grateful to the committee members for their willingness to contribute to the search effort."

The committee will begin the national search immediately and will start reviewing applications on April 1. As announced in December, Neuhauser will continue as AVP and, after his successor arrives, then rejoin the Carroll School of Management faculty.

top of page