Scientists Scott, Naughton, Kelley Honored

Scientists Scott, Naughton, Kelley Honored

Boston College's excellence in scientific research continues to draw wide recognition with the recent election of two professors to fellowships in distinguished learned societies, and the award to a third of a $593,000 National Science Foundation grant given to promising teacher-scholars.

Prof. Lawrence Scott (Chemistry) was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society, and publisher of Science Magazine.

Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed by AAAS peers in recognition of meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

Scott is noted for innovation in the creation of fullerenes, remarkably strong soccer-ball-shaped molecules of carbon seen having a wide range of industrial and medical uses.

Prof. Michael Naughton (Physics), whose nanotech research has included devising a tiny sensor to unearth landmines, has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society in its Division of Condensed Matter Physics.

The American Physical Society's Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication; have been innovative in applying physics to science and technology, or have made significant contributions to the teaching of physics.

Each year, no more than one-half of 1 percent of the American Physical Society's membership is recognized by peers with election to the status of fellow. Competition for this recognition in the Division of Condensed Matter Physics is especially rigorous.

BC Physics now counts three APS Fellows on its faculty, with Naughton joining the department's chairman, Rourke Professor Kevin Bedell, and Distinguished Research Professor Gabor Kalman. BC Chemistry claims two, professors John Fourkas and Paul Davidovits, both elected in the society's Chemical Physics Division.

Research by Asst. Prof. Shana O. Kelley (Chemistry) on the molecular properties of DNA and RNA will be aided by a National Science Foundation Career Award worth $593,000 over five years.

The NSF's Faculty Early Career Development Program recognizes and supports the early career-development activities of those teacher-scholars who are most likely to become the academic leaders of the 21st century.

-Mark Sullivan


Return to Dec. 11 menu.

Return to Chronicle home page