April 29, 2004 • Volume 12 Number 16

BC Fetes Its Outstanding Student Leaders

When they first met four years ago, Campus Minister Donald MacMillan, SJ, knew that then-freshman Sarah Berger '04 was going to be among the stand-outs in her class.

"She came around early that first semester and introduced herself and got involved right away," said Fr. MacMillan, recalling Berger's interest in participating in an immersion trip to Quernavaca, Mexico, later that year.

Since then, says Fr. MacMillan, Berger has been an actively involved leader for Campus Ministry, demonstrating commitment to both the mission of Campus Ministry and Jesuit mantra of "being men and women for others."

"She has been dedicated to Campus Ministry in a meaningful way. Sarah lives and breathes that, in every fiber of her being."

To recognize her efforts, Fr. MacMillan nominated Berger for the St. Ignatius Award for Student Involvement, which she received on April 5 at the annual Dean for Student Development Leadership Awards banquet.

Berger was one of dozens of student leaders honored at the event, which recognizes both individuals and groups who have provided an extra measure of commitment to Boston College.

University President William P. Leahy, SJ, and Vice President for Student Affairs Cheryl Presley were among the guest speakers at the event, which was held in the Lower Campus Dining Hall Heights Room.

Other award winners included Philip A. Frattaroli '04, who won the Jeff Keith Award, given annually to a graduating senior who has overcome a physical challenge to excel in academic and co-curricular activities.

For her active roles in co-curricular activities and accomplishments as a student leader, incoming UGBC president Grace Simmons '05 was awarded the Brian D.A. Hall Leadership Award.

Senior Jeffrey SooHoo received the St. Ignatius Award for Personal Development, which honors students whose values and ideals have undergone a transformation and deepening through participation in student activities.

Awards recognizing the development and effective use of certain skills were presented to: Zachry Barber '04 for programming; Michael Coppola '04 for creativity; and Lane Leidy Marmon '05 for leadership.

The Campus School Volunteers received the "Ever to Excel" Award for its organizational contribution to Boston College. The group includes juniors Dominick DiCarlo, Courtney Reynolds and Cheryl Riether, sophomore Michael O'Connor and seniors Suzanne Pomponio and Charles Ring.

In addition, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Project Manager Suzy Conway received the Rev. John R. Trzaska, SJ, Award, which recognizes an advisor who has provided support and guidance within co-curricular life. Conway oversees the Best Buddies Club, which provides workers in BC's Supported Employment Program with opportunities for one-to-one friendships with BC students.

Also, the "Start a Revolution...Love Your Body" Planning Committee, comprised of juniors Christopher Grillo and Elizabeth Wolf and sophomores Reena Parikh and Kellie Cairns, was presented with the Student Development Award. -Stephen Gawlik

top of page