An Award-Winning Year for Communication Faculty

An Award-Winning Year for Communication Faculty

By Stephen Gawlik
Staff Writer

The Communication Department, which boasts the most popular undergraduate major at the University with 945 students, also proved to be a favorite among its peers in academia last year.

Communication Department chairman Assoc. Prof. Dale Herbeck (at right) and his other award-winning colleagues (clockwise): Asst. Prof. Dana Mastro, associate professors Lisa Cuklanz, Donald Fishman and Ann Marie Barry and Asst. Prof. Ekaterina Haskins. (Photo by Justin Knight)
During 2001, six Communication faculty members won seven major awards for their scholarly work in areas such as rhetoric, free speech and visual communication.

"These awards signify that the Boston College Communication Department is putting itself on the map of prestigious communication departments in this country," said College of Arts and Sciences Dean Joseph Quinn. "The field is hot throughout the nation, and Boston College is no exception."

Department chairman Assoc. Prof. Dale Herbeck earned the James Madison Award from the Southern States Communication Association for writing the year's outstanding essay on freedom of expression.

Assoc. Prof. Donald Fishman received the Greg Phifer Award, given by the Committee on Parliamentary Procedure to honor the best essay on parliamentary procedure. He also was selected for the National Communication Association's Robert M. O'Neill Award, which recognizes scholarship on freedom of expression.

Assoc. Prof. Lisa Cuklanz won the Everett Lee Hunt Award from the Eastern Communication Association for her book, Rape on Prime Time: Television, Masculinity, and Sexual Violence. The award recognizes a scholar whose work contributes to the understanding of rhetoric and communication "as a human function in the contemporary world and a means of explaining and realizing public responsibilities beyond the discipline of communication," according to the ECA.

The Visual Communication Commission of the National Communication Association presented Assoc. Prof. Ann Marie Barry with the Award for Excellence in Research for her work in the area of "visual intelligence," the ability to understand the logic employed in the manipulation of images.

Asst. Prof. Dana Mastro won the Outstanding Article Award from the Journal of Intergroup Relations for "A Social Identity Approach to Understanding the Jury Decision-Making Process: Race as a Social Indicator," which discussed the influence of factors such as race and gender on jury trials.

The Rhetoric Society of America presented Asst. Prof. Ekaterina Haskins with the Charles Kneupper Award, which honors outstanding work on rhetorical theory, for her essay comparing the rhetorical approaches of Plato, Aristotle and Isocrates.

Herbeck said that while each of the awards is an individual honor, collectively they represent a noteworthy endorsement for the department's scholarly work.

"The fact that this recognition comes from a number of subject areas really demonstrates the wide breadth of the department's work," said Herbeck.


Return to February 28 menu

Return to Chronicle home page