Promotion, Tenure Announced for 22 Faculty Members

(3-2-98) -- University President William P. Leahy, SJ, has announced the promotion of 22 Boston College faculty members, effective March 1.

Promoted to full professor are: Patrick Byrne (Philosophy), John Cleary (Philosophy), Joseph Flanagan, SJ (Philosophy), Robin Fleming (History), Sharlene Hesse-Biber (Sociology), Michael Himes (Theology), Ruth-Arlene Howe (Law), Fabio Schiantarelli (Economics), Thanh Van Tran (GSSW), Sandra Waddock (CSOM) and Alfred Yen (Law).

The following faculty members were promoted to associate professor and granted tenure: Mary Bilder (Law), Amy Boesky (English), Susan Chase (SON), Thomas Chiles (Biology), Francis Herrmann, SJ (Law), John Makransky (Theology), Thomas O'Hare (GSSW), Judith Shindul-Rothschild (SON) and Elizabeth Sparks (SOE).

Also, associate professors Serena Ng (Economics) and Clare O'Connor (Biology) were awarded tenure.

Back to InfoEagle Home Page

Back to News and Information from Boston College